Butter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I am trying this soup now. So far it is great, but not sure about the instructions on how to make the 'noodles'. I don't understand how to form the noodles as you pour the dough. The directions say to add water to make a thick dough, but I thick of dough as being something thicker, not something you could pour. I read other reviews that used a spoon or sieve to make them Could someone let me know how much water they added, and some clearer instructions how to form the noodles? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding the onion whole and removing it before pureeing the soup. Only had milk so added that and a couple of slices of diced black forest ham, no noodles. Easy, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is very tasty as long as you use broth, not water. I also added garlic and other spices. We don't have half and half in Canada so I added cream of celery soup instead. I also added celery to the veggies. First time "noodle" makers spooning the very thick dough into the soup will want to go tiny. The dough dumplings get much bigger when they cook. I wouldn't double the flour and eggs until you're sure that's the part your family likes best. I think this is a recipe you can experiment with, even the first time out, and be pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Love it! I did play with it and added chicken bouilon. Next time I am going to try adding chicken and some green veggie's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I wasn't sure what to expect from this but it was surprisingly delightful! I did think it needed a bit of garlic or celery salt or something. I usually have all these ingredients on hand so this is a good recipe to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was fabulous! Iwas a little skeptical and thought perhaps the potato and onion chunks would be too big and maybe it was not enough butter, but it was just right...sooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I followed recipe exactly and everyone loved it! Thank you Sharon. I'll be making this soup again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was fun to make since making my own noodles was a first. Instead of the 8 cups of water I used 6 cups chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Added some rosemary and pepper to the noodle dough and a few splashes of milk in addition to the water. Per the advice of others, I doubled the noodles. Next time I will 1.5x the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is exactly what my german grandma used to make and no one ever had the recipe. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was pretty good. I used chicken broth and the soup had a nice flavor. I would have liked better directions for how much water to add to the dumplings. I added about 2 TBSP water for 1/2 cup flour & 1 egg (half recipe)and I think my dough was too thick. I dropped by 1/2 tsp into the soup and they came out a little larger than I expected. My husband liked it, but I think next time I will add a little more water and use the German method of making spaetzle by pushing the dough through a strainer to get smaller drops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States