Butter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
Excellent, one of our regular soups but we make 2 modifications. Instead of water we use broth of some kind, generally vegetable broth (canned or from veggie broth powder), but also excellent with chicken broth. Second modification, we love the drop noodles (dumplings) we double or triple them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
this recipie is soo fun and exiting to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
I love this soup. Crumble bacon on each serving for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
my grandma used to make this for me all the time! this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
A wonderful recipe. Very easy, filling, and great for winter. What I really love about this is it's very inexpensive to make. You can doll it up all you like, but the fact of the matter is, it's a classic as is. Thank you. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I added way more butter as it is called butter soup. I was shown this receipe by my mother in law. I rolled out the dough and made noodles. Like it way better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yeahhh so I've never made soup before. I used this (awesome) recipe as a base. It turned out great! I substituted the 8 c. water and 1/2 c. half and half for 4 c. water, 2 1/2 c. vegetable stock, and 2 c. almond milk. Next time, I'm going to use 50/50 veggie broth and almond milk. The almond milk gave it a richer flavor (...and I avoid milk when possible!) Yeaahhh, and I ground up 1/3 c. cashews to add more flavor. I substituted the dry herb for 5 cloves minced garlic and basil and thyme I had lying around. I also added hot sauce :D Make sure to cut into smaalll amounts when making the spaetzel. I rolled out the dough and cut into 3/4 cm squares. They became just smaller than the size of my spoon. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yummy soup on a snowy, winter night like we're having in Oregon tonight. The only thing I do differently (lazy) is to prick & microwave unpeeled potatoes & scoop out the pulp into the soup pot. This saves time and the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I have been making this soup for 30 years and think of my mother with every pot. Variations - Try adding spices to your noodles, like garlic, onion, basil, oregano, rosemary or thyme. Just before serving, add 1/2 cup milk and finish with a large pat of butter on top. Hence the name Butter Soup. Jake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This soup is much better the second day! The ONLY change I made was to use whole milk instead of half and half, but I doubled it to 1 cup since it wasn't very creamy. It is simple! I thought the broth sounded like a good idea but after tasting this soup the second day, it's not necessary. I did take the advice of one and made some bacon to crumble on top and it really made it great. It's possible the broth would make it better, but it's really REALLY good as it is. I'll definitely try half and half next time if I have it in my fridge. Thanks for such an easy recipe!!! This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States