Butter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
Excellent, one of our regular soups but we make 2 modifications. Instead of water we use broth of some kind, generally vegetable broth (canned or from veggie broth powder), but also excellent with chicken broth. Second modification, we love the drop noodles (dumplings) we double or triple them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is good budget meal especially in these times of lay-offs. I added 4 chicken bouillon cubes. I also used only 4 potatoes but doubled noodle dough 'cuz we love them! Need to cook soup 5-6 minutes more once add noodles. Note: these are actually spaetzle, not noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
omg i was looking for this recipe this is exactly what my husbands mother used to make great as is could use less flour as noodles will thicken it more salt and water milk ratio should be 50/50
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Popkum, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by JacquiB
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this is a great recipe that my Oma used to make as well. My kids LOVE it. You do have to make sure you add enough salt. I often add garlic salt. You also have to add enough butter. I add about 1/4 cup. I know it's a lot, but it gives it great flavour! To make the noodles, I roll out the dough, flour it, and roll it up. Then I cut the noodles to the width I want. Quite often, though, I make it without the noodles and that is how my family prefers it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is very similar to my grandmother's potato soup and dough balls. To have the perfect dumplings, after scooping dough in the pot, cook 10 minutes uncovered and then 10 minutes covered. And I do usually use chicken broth cause the flavor is better than the water. She never put the cream in though. I make this regularly and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
I love this soup. Crumble bacon on each serving for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
A wonderful recipe. Very easy, filling, and great for winter. What I really love about this is it's very inexpensive to make. You can doll it up all you like, but the fact of the matter is, it's a classic as is. Thank you. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Overall I thought that the soup had no taste and was not really appealing. I put it through the blender and added a few spices and herbs in order to make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
Like any potatoe soup you need enough salt to give good flavor. My kids ( toddlers) loved it - none of that green or orange stuff to be suspicious about. Nice to make something that didn't require a trip to the store. Thanks Maude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
A nice comfort food with a lot of room for expansion. My husband loved this as it is just the type of recipe he enjoys, simple & filling. I also doubled the spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States