Butter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JacquiB
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this is a great recipe that my Oma used to make as well. My kids LOVE it. You do have to make sure you add enough salt. I often add garlic salt. You also have to add enough butter. I add about 1/4 cup. I know it's a lot, but it gives it great flavour! To make the noodles, I roll out the dough, flour it, and roll it up. Then I cut the noodles to the width I want. Quite often, though, I make it without the noodles and that is how my family prefers it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yeahhh so I've never made soup before. I used this (awesome) recipe as a base. It turned out great! I substituted the 8 c. water and 1/2 c. half and half for 4 c. water, 2 1/2 c. vegetable stock, and 2 c. almond milk. Next time, I'm going to use 50/50 veggie broth and almond milk. The almond milk gave it a richer flavor (...and I avoid milk when possible!) Yeaahhh, and I ground up 1/3 c. cashews to add more flavor. I substituted the dry herb for 5 cloves minced garlic and basil and thyme I had lying around. I also added hot sauce :D Make sure to cut into smaalll amounts when making the spaetzel. I rolled out the dough and cut into 3/4 cm squares. They became just smaller than the size of my spoon. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
omg i was looking for this recipe this is exactly what my husbands mother used to make great as is could use less flour as noodles will thicken it more salt and water milk ratio should be 50/50
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Popkum, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I added way more butter as it is called butter soup. I was shown this receipe by my mother in law. I rolled out the dough and made noodles. Like it way better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
A wonderful recipe. Very easy, filling, and great for winter. What I really love about this is it's very inexpensive to make. You can doll it up all you like, but the fact of the matter is, it's a classic as is. Thank you. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
my family didnt really care for this recipie. it didnt have hardly any flavor. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
my grandma used to make this for me all the time! this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It was all right, not my favorite, though. I wasn't a huge fan of the noodles. I actually messed up and burned it a little, too, so that's my fault (but be careful, you can burn the potatoes easily!) Stir, stir, stir. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Very bland. My soup was extremely thick and tasteless. I added bacon bits, cheese, and gobs of salt. better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
A nice comfort food with a lot of room for expansion. My husband loved this as it is just the type of recipe he enjoys, simple & filling. I also doubled the spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States