Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I didn't use a cookie press, but instead made these into thumbprint cookies filled with strawberry jam. I thought they tasted good, but without the jam, they were a bit bland. I will probably make these again and use a cookie press and add a bit more cinnamon like some of the other reviewers recommended. Overall, a good cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I omitted the cinnamon and added a little coconut extract... These are now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are soooo good. It is hard to stop eating them, so I make my husband take them to work with him the next day so that I wont eat them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Looks wonderful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were good but something went wrong. I think it might have been my fault (my flour was pretty old) but my baked cookies had a tiny bit of a sour aftertaste. My butter and other ingredients were fresh, but I don't bake a lot so the flour may have been past its prime. I am unfamiliar with baking spritz cookies and it didn't say in the instructions, so I cooled my dough like I do with sugar cookies. BIG MISTAKE! If you haven't made spritz cookies before, the dough needs to be sticky so it can stick to your cookie sheet (cookie sheet has to be cold, dough warm. Once I got the dough warmed up, it went fine. I also was unaware how tiny spritz cookies are. When I was reading the reviews about how you can make 6 dozen cookies, I was astounded. Spritz are one, maybe two bites, so 6 dozen doesn't last long. Anyway, they were good but I need to try again with fresher flour to see if the bitterness was the recipe or me. It might have also been the orange zest, but I WILL try again. Oh, and mine took EXACTLY 12 minutes to bake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Not 100% sure if I'm lovin the orange hint - definitely needs more cinnamon - yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious...my two toddler girls enjoyed helping me make them as well as eat them. I pretty much stuck to the recipe although I added a tad more cinnamon and sugar based on other's comments. I also used premium ingredients such as Saigon cinnamon, Madagascar vanilla, and fleur de sel. I figured what the heck, I had it all and was only baking once this Christmas. Definitely don't skip the orange peel as this really gave a new dimension to the cookie and the complexity of flavors is indescribable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are the BEST cookies I've ever made! I doubled the amount of cinnamon and they came out amazing. They worked perfectly in my cookie press as well. This is my new Christmas cookie recipe! So delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
my husband said if the butter cookies dont taste like the bought ones then he is going to go to Walmart and buying himself some but there was no need to everyone LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good recipe but I needed to use about 1/2 cup more flour so it would go through the presser and I only baked them for 10 minutes since they were very small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISM1205

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States