Butter Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe! I scaled it to 3 and kinda wish I hadn't...the only change I made was to swap the wine (which I thought I had) for beer. I did salt my mushrooms at the table, they were good but the salt made them great (my butter was unsalted just for the record). Got to use my brand new meat mallet and work off some aggression too! Thanks for this delicious simple super-fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm sorry, I just didn't think the breading was very flavorful(are others using Italian bread crumbs, maybe??) & the sauce was just melted butter w/mushrooms...so, very greasy/oily. I didn't find that the wine added anything to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was so tasty! The only change I made to the recipe was to cook the pork first and kept warm in the oven at 200 degrees, then made the gravy. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and peas- such a comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe loosely, using it basically as a guide. I used the traditional flour, egg, bread crumb method for breading, a little more seasoning in the crumbs, some shallots along with the mushrooms and garlic and a good deal of chicken broth along with the wine for the gravy. Didn't bother to measure anything, just used all ingredients to taste or as needed. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used pre-tenderized pork leg cutlets, and that part of the recipe was very good. I added a bit of oregano. The mushroom "sauce" on the other hand was just incredibly greasy mushrooms. The right mushroom sauce would be good in this recipe but this mushroom sauce isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. The pork was so tender. I too reduced the amount of butter in the sauce. I used cremini mushrooms and sautéed them before adding the wine. I would have given this 4.5 stars if possible. My husband really liked this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We went to a German restaurant recently and had their schnitzel. My husband has been craving it since. We decided to try this one. A very easy and flavorful recipe. We made a dijon mustard cream sauce to accompany our schnitzel. Great dish. Adding to the recipe box and will be making again. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I didn't use the sauce, because we don't like mushrooms, but the pork was delicious! Since I did not use the sauce, I decided to add some garlic powder to the bread crumb mixture and it worked well. I made 6 pork loin chops for my husband and I, but I will definitely make more next time! It was so good, that it barely lasted for more than one meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Delicious. I did have to alter slightly, lcaking some ingredients, substituting others.: used saltine crackers, not bread crumbs, along with cornmeal; red not white wine, but still was really good. Will try this again with all the right stuff, and it will surely be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made a mess making these but the flavor was good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States