Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Great Great recipe with some tweaking.... Here's what I did for perfect results. I added two more tablespoons to the butter it called for, and put half of the salt, half of the almond extract and a tad bit more of the vanilla... Perfecto... They are soft, creamy, melt in your mouth......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
YUMMY! AND FINALLY I've found a Spritz cookie recipe I will keep FOREVER!! :) I did modify the recipe, though, by using only 1/4t almond flavoring and 1/4 t vanilla flavoring. There was no bitter after-taste, only the melt-in-your-mouth taste of buttery spritz. The confectioner's sugar also makes this cookie very smooth. GREAT recipe! It's a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I agree with KARLA13, the preparation is easy but the cookie after-taste isn't that appealing. Although they looked nice, I couldn't give them out because of the after-taste. I make spriz cookies a lot and this taste was like no other...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made this recipe with three other Spritz recipes from this site. The texture was perfect for press cookies, but I found the almond flavoring overwhelming both in the dough and in teh finished product. I took them to work and to a church social and asked folks to rate them. These were the least favorite of the four Spritz recipes. I'm thinking maybe I should try them without the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These turned out very tasty. However, the dough was too firm to go through my cookie press. After adding a little more butter, the consistency was right and the cookies turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
it was easy, and I concur with the other reviews, "what aftertaste??" I did customize this recipe to make 6 1/2 dozen and needed to add 1/4 more butter to work the cookie press. Overall, a great recipe for the cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is an excellent spritz cookie recipe. Followed the recipe exactly as written and had excellent results. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I tried this recipe because of the reviews. I have never had any luck making press cookies, but using this recipe was a breeze! Really has a good taste and very easy to use in the press. I give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I think butter rich really describes the recipe well. If you love a very strong butter cookie taste then you'll love these. My kids loved them, my DH however didn't. He likes a sweeter cookie with more complex flavors. They really reminded me of the traditional butter cookies I've had in the past...similar to a shortbread, but more buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I have to share this with you. I have my grandmother's press, which is at least 50 years old. I have NEVER been able to get a dough to go thru it without a hassle - until now! This is the most wonderful dough to work with. I did use all vanilla and no almond but stuck with the other measurements (I always use unsalted butter so I didn't play with the salt at all). It was a breeze - no chilling the dough. Couple of hints though - be sure to let the cookie sheets cool completely so that your dough grabs it (I even put my outside on the deck to chill them). Also, I found that I got WAY more than 3 dozen out of a batch - I used the wreath and camel and tree patterns and a double recipe gave me more than 12 dozen cookies (I gave up counting at that point :). Finally, I always find spritz taste better the next day (like pizelles, they need that overnight rest to really let the vanilla shine thru). Good luck and definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States