Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I agree with many others. Cookie has a very unappealing taste. It was also to think to go thru my cookie press. After a while I gave up and made them like sugar cookies that are rolled in balls. Even dipping them in coloured sugars didn't give them enough flavour. They will not make the gift boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made little wreths for Christmas. I used pastry bag instead of cookie press. The dough was too thick, it was difficult to get it out. So I added few spoons of sour cream to thin it. It worked better. So I think, I would add less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. They taste OK BUT they were too soft to get them to go through the press so I chilled the dough, finally had to add more flour. Then they ended up doughy/cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Really nice recipe. Went through my cookie press flawlessly. I added 2 tbls more butter and cut the almond down by half. No bitterness. They were light and delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Lacy White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Note I don't know what I did,but I can't get a rating other than "I did't like it". I love these type of cookies so I'm providing the differences from the original and ideas why people have had issues. Sorry my rating is messed up, but I can't get it to change. I can understand why people have had issues with these cookies especially being dry. I inherited the family metal press along with the recipe. My mother started baking at Thanksgiving and would freeze cookies. Most she used vanilla extract except Christmas trees she dyed green and used almond extract. I suggest one make sure they have pure extracts not imitation as imitation will make your items bitter. The original recipe is the same when it come to flour, salt, and butter. The recipe was to cream butter which it didn't specify salted or unsalted and I know my family always had salted butter and never changed the salt in the recipe. The big difference between the recipes is the original used ¾cup of regular sugar not confectioner's. Confectioner's sugar although it's regular cane sugar ground to a fine consistency it also contains up to 3% cornstarch as an anticaking agent. This along with the reduction in liquid because the original recipe used whole eggs may be why people have had difficulty using the press and finding adding butter helped, but although it helped the press issue the cookies probably had a dry texture. After creaming the butter and sugar together , eggs were beat in and then either vanilla, or almon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made the cookie dough exactly as the recipe stated. The first batch was great, easy to form, 8 minutes in the oven, turned out perfect. I added Raspberry Jam in the middle. Next batch was harder to get through the press and burned in less than 8 minutes. I remembered a review that recommended more butter, tried that, back to perfect! I'm not sure what aftertaste some reviewers commented on. My whole family loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in the results. On the positive side: the cookies were easy to make and very easy to press out. I would give 5 stars for easy of prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Not my favorite. Rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Finally found a good one that you don't have to chill, and works in my press. I did not use the almond extract, and I used salted butter so I omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
dough was all crumbly had to add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Sorenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States