Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
If you think the dough is too stiff and dry, then keep mixing! At first I found the dough to be too stiff to be put through the cookie press, so I returned it to the mixer and beat the dough for at least another 2 minutes. Then it was perfect! The only change I made was to use 1 tsp. almond extract. Next time I might use even more. These cookies are light, crisp, not too sweet and of course, buttery! As always, I used real unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is an okay recipe. I expected more buttery shortbread taste and these don't deliver on that. Would look good on a cookie tray, but that's it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Perfect as written. Tips: 1. Measure flour correctly by spooning flour into the measuring cup and then level off. Do not scoop & pack. 2. Be patient. I use my Oster Kitchen Center stand mixer and I was starting to get concerned the dough was too dry but I was patient and it mixed up beautifully and worked perfectly in my Crate & Barrel Cookie Press. I baked for 6 minutes and cooled for 2-3 minutes on the cookie sheet before moving the cookies to a cooling rack lined with paper towels. The flavor is great, they melt in your mouth and don't taste greasy. Thanks Sheri for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Super good cookies, instead of almond extract (we didn't have any) we used peppermint extract. Husband and kids liked much better...we made 2 batches one of each, we all decided peppermint was better =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Almost broke my $75 cookie press - not a cheap one. Too dry & thick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were the best! Instead of putting them in the cookie press, I rolled them out into balls and hand pressed. Oh my goodness...they were wonderful. So buttery and flavorful. I did cut down on the almond to 1 tsp and on the vanilla to 2 tsp. Other than that, I made as is. I was shocked at how good these were. This is a MUST KEEP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
disappointing......this dough was way too stiff to come thru the press. so i made dough again and cut flour back to less than 2 cups. worked a lot better but still kinda flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This dough was easy to work with, but I felt it didn't have much flavor. Kind of doughy tasting. Maybe I'm spoiled by Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made this cookie & the "butter snow flakes" from this site I liked the other cookie better this is a drier cookie and I had a problem with the dough coming out of the pampered chef cookie press. Make sure you watch bake time they brown quickly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was a very delicious recipe! My husband said it is the best one he's ever tasted. I followed the recipe but I used 1 whole egg instead of yolk and a little more butter. Worked excellent in the cookie press. I honestly had a wonderful baking experience with this recipe! Thank you! It does help to chill the baking pans before pressing cookies on them and I didn't need to chill the dough at all. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States