Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Five stars! First spritz cookie I've made that doesn't 'act up' in the press or on the cookie sheet. Flavorful, forgiving, and fast. Followed advice on adding extra 2 tbs of butter. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Needed to add 2 TBS additional butter as the dough would not pass through and make a cookie. Other than that they turned out very nicely! I will remember this recipe for the next time as I have tried many recipes that do not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christylynn
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The cookies were perfect after the additional butter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, in my search to reproduce the Italian Butter Cookies available in bulk at bakeries around Chicago. This comes very very close to it. This is a very simple recipe, quality ingredients give a quality result. Adjust your salt down if you use salted butter. I also skip the almond extract, just a taste preference. But I use a very good quality organic pure vanilla extract, cheap imitation vanilla would be telling and probably accounts for the aftertaste some reviewers experienced. The texture is usually perfect for my cheap Wilton cookie press, but one time I had to put it back in the mixer and add some liquid, it was too crumbly. The weather had been particularly dry, and I think that affected it a bit. You have to use plain aluminum cookie sheets, and no parchment paper, unless you want a fight to get them to press out effeciently. They are wonderful dipped in dipped partially in the "Make Your Own Almond Bark" chocolate candy coating and toss on a few seasonally appropriate sprinkles. They come very close to the Italian cookies from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a GREAT spritz cookie. I also did some 'tweaking' - TRY THIS - YOU'LL LOVE IT! Use 1-1/4 c butter, cut salt to 1/4 tsp, cut flour to 2-1/4 cups, use 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp butter flavoring, AND ADD 1/2 tsp orange extract. Be sure to whip the heck out of all ingredients before adding flour. PERFECT FLAVOR and perfect consistency for the cookie press!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very tasty but I did go a little light on both flavorings because of some other reviewers. Maybe didn't need to since I only use Watkins flavorings which are hard to beat. I did find the dough a little stiff to go thru the press. Had a little better luck with another recipe on this site. Probably should try it again and just add a tad more butter and even try the full amount of flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is the best! I've tried several recipes over the years. This is wonderful. I did not have almond extract so I used lemon extract. I, also, took another reviewers suggestion and reduced the salt and extract (lemon for me)by 1/2, added 2 tablespoonfuls of butter and reduced the vanilla extract to 1/4 tsp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a nice recipe for a tasty butter cookie...like some others, I struggled to make the dough work in the cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
perfect! thx to other reviewers added 2 T extra butter, and replaced almond extract with extra vanilla. the dough was easy to work with and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The taste was good, but the texture was wrong. Came out way too dry. I added liquid and still couldn't get them to work in my cookie press. I recommend trying another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hetrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States