Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was the worst spritz recipe I have ever made !! They taste OK BUT they were too soft to get them to go through the press so I chilled the dough, finally had to add more flour. Then they ended up doughy/cakey. NOT like a butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Really nice recipe. Went through my cookie press flawlessly. I added 2 tbls more butter and cut the almond down by half. No bitterness. They were light and delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Lacy White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Note I don't know what I did,but I can't get a rating other than "I did't like it". I love these type of cookies so I'm providing the differences from the original and ideas why people have had issues. Sorry my rating is messed up, but I can't get it to change. I can understand why people have had issues with these cookies especially being dry. I inherited the family metal press along with the recipe. My mother started baking at Thanksgiving and would freeze cookies. Most she used vanilla extract except Christmas trees she dyed green and used almond extract. I suggest one make sure they have pure extracts not imitation as imitation will make your items bitter. The original recipe is the same when it come to flour, salt, and butter. The recipe was to cream butter which it didn't specify salted or unsalted and I know my family always had salted butter and never changed the salt in the recipe. The big difference between the recipes is the original used ¾cup of regular sugar not confectioner's. Confectioner's sugar although it's regular cane sugar ground to a fine consistency it also contains up to 3% cornstarch as an anticaking agent. This along with the reduction in liquid because the original recipe used whole eggs may be why people have had difficulty using the press and finding adding butter helped, but although it helped the press issue the cookies probably had a dry texture. After creaming the butter and sugar together , eggs were beat in and then either vanilla, or almon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made the cookie dough exactly as the recipe stated. The first batch was great, easy to form, 8 minutes in the oven, turned out perfect. I added Raspberry Jam in the middle. Next batch was harder to get through the press and burned in less than 8 minutes. I remembered a review that recommended more butter, tried that, back to perfect! I'm not sure what aftertaste some reviewers commented on. My whole family loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I lost my mother's Mirro Christmas Tree Spritz cookie recipe and decided to try this recipe based on the reviews. I was extremely disappointed in the results. I won't be giving any of these away. I located the original Mirro recipe and will be using that in the future. On the positive side: the cookies were easy to make and very easy to press out. I would give 5 stars for easy of prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Not my favorite. Rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Finally found a good one that you don't have to chill, and works in my press. I did not use the almond extract, and I used salted butter so I omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The recipe was not right dough was all crumbly had to add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Sorenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These made about 4 dozen, (Don't use the air bake pan unless you bake longer). Add sprinkles before baking. Should have done that. Taste was good. will make again and try the above
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Hopstetter
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have used a ton of spritz cookie recipes and this one is great and easy! My son loves it! I think it would be even better dipped in chocolate or flavored with raspberry or orange for other holidays! Really easy recipe and good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Hopstetter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States