Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrs. arnone
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe was just ok. I'm not a huge sweets fan but even I thought that it could use more sugar. Next time I will sub out 1/4 cup of flour and add more sugar in its place. My first batch got too dark so I turned down my oven to 350 and baked them for 7 minutes. The consistency is very nice. Slightly crisp and light in the middle. Great butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delita
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
First ever spritz cookie recipe Ive tried! after watching my mom go through recipe after recipe unsuccessfully with the cookie press, I was hesitant to try this. However I just made them and they taste fabulous!the recipe is so simple yet the cookies are so buttery and delicious. To avoid the aftertaste, I simply used less almond extract and increased the butter. Mine are burning from the bottom slightly, but I think that is my cookie pan. I am definitely going to use this recipe again. trust me, I am a horrible cook but I was able to make these perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is almost the exact same recipe my mom used when I was a kid (45 years ago!). I looked it up because I wasn't sure about the powdered sugar instead of granulated. All was the same except the egg yolks. Her recipe calls for one whole egg instead of two yolks. I have her cookie press and all the inserts. I just made them today for the first time in over 15 years, with my daughter. I did it like I did when I was a kid- made 3 colors of dough, roll each color into a long snake, put all three colors next to each other and then put into the press like that. Each cookie then has the 3 colors on it. They tasted exactly like I remember them! Brought back lots of memories of cooking with my mom. I'm sure she was looking down and watching my daughter and I make these together like she and I used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe uses way too much flour to make a dough. I will add more of the other ingredients to stretch it and make it usable. Right now all I have is crumbles of floury nothingness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe! My family has made spritz for years but this recipe intrigued me because it called for confectioner's sugar instead of granulated. This difference made a hug difference in how tender the cookie is, fantastic! The only change I made was to reduce the amount of almond extract to 1/4 tsp to reduce the after taste, similar to others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Did not work as "spritz" cookies, but delicious as rolled out, cookie cutter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was disappointed in these! I wanted to make spritz cookies and couldn't find my grandmother's recipe which is always a winner. From memory it seemed like the same ingredients (except for the almond extract) so I gave them a try. The dough was very firm..hard to press out and flavor was lacking something, even though I upped the amount of vanilla called for. I'm going back to searching for Granny's recipe. I won't make this one again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Loved it. The entire family enjoyed these. I did adapt the recipe after reading several reviews. I added 2 tablespoons butter and added a tab more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
For the very first using my cookie press this worked wonderfully! I used only vanilla and added the extra butter as per the other reviews I also lowered the temp to 375 and only cooked them for 4-5 min and they came out nice and soft and can't keep my children out of them. This will become a Christmas tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
As many have said, this is a delicious recipe. Likewise, I used extra butter-3/4 a stick, and I used only half the almond extract while replacing the other 1/4 teaspoon with vanilla. That being said, the problems that others had with the recipe could be as simple as slightly imprecise measuring or not creaming, blending or mixing enough. Peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States