Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These are really great spritz cookies! I love the flavor, it is just what I was looking for. I colored some of the dough red and some green, while leaving some just plain white. Because the dough got soft when I was kneading in the food color, I put it in the fridge for a while...not a good idea. The dough got so hard that it wouldn't even go through the cookie press. I had to soften it up again in my hands before I could use it. To make the cookies, I used my cookie press inserts to make white snowflakes, green wreaths and Christmas trees, and red poinsettias. I used my round Christmas sprinkles to decorate the Christmas trees, some Wilton sparkling sugar for the snowflakes, and holly berry and leaves sprinkles for the wreathes. They looked so pretty, and are going to make an excellent addition to my Christmas cookie trays! Thanks so much for sharing...these are great! I am going to make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
HINT!!!!! try adding a 8oz of Cream Cheese for the ones that love cream cheese and they cool less time and are creamy and soft! will be just a better cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tra72
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'm new to using a cookie press and have been looking for the best spritz/butter cookie recipe to use and I think I found it with this one. It's super easy and really good. It made slightly over 3 dozen cookies for me. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tra72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good cookie! I used only vanilla extract and they were still very tasty! The dough was very soft and easy to manage in my cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Turned out very well. Used Smart Balance instead of butter (to make them milk free) and did 1 tsp of almond extract to make up for the lack of buttery flavor. Turned out great...soft on the inside and a little on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I'm going to give this recipe 5 stars, even though my cookies only turned out so-so. The cookies tasted GREAT and the consistency was fanstastic, but my cookie press is a piece of junk and broke most of the cookies. Moral of the story - buy a good cookie press!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Content

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yummy fun! My first time making these and I used this recipe knowing it would turn out delicious. My husband didn't know he'd be helping but after mashing the butter he had a blast using the gun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Perdue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
these were just okay. The taste was good but I had a hard time getting them to come through my cookie press. I'll stick with the Spritz cookie I got out of Midwest Living magazine many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very rich and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eevie Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is the recipe I have been using for years (but out of an old family cookbook. If you have trouble with the "dough" sticking in your tube, try wrapping a one tube amount of dough in wax paper and chill for an hour. We live in Florida where it is humid year-round (whether it is hot or cold outside) and that helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States