Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I was browsing around for pound cake recipes and found this one. Easy to make and not a lot of ingredients to keep up with. Sprinkled some powdered sugar on it and took it into work. They really liked it. I took some to my sister, between that and work, the whole cake was gone. I'm making another one that I plan to put an orange glaze on it. The recipe is very versatile & you can substitute various flavorings in it and it still turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this cake over the weekend to take to work, and everyone loved it. The cake was really moist. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe. Chef Perisee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefwannab  Perisee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Bernadette
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Made this the first time following the recipe except added rum instead of lemon. It was very good. Used this the second time to make petite fours for a shower. Made 1/2 of the recipe and baked in a jelly roll pan, then cut and used rolled foundant from this site. Love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS WAS A WONDERFUL CAKE!!!! I MADE IT FOR MY MOTHER-IN-LAW AND SHE LOVED IT. I ALSO MADE IT FOR MY PASTER OF MY CHURCH AND ONE FOR MY HUSBAND FOR HIS BIRTHDAY AND THEY SAID IT WAS WONDERFUL ALSO. THEY WANT ME TO MAKE THEM ANOTHER ONE VERY SOON. THANKS FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzGriffin28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Just wonderful. My husband wanted a real pound cake. I promised it would be (by the tone of the reviews). He was so pleased with everything about it. Moist, Dense,creamy and delicious. Will definitely keep this one around. I have made many that really were like a fluffy cake. This is a REAL pound cake. I , too had to cook it alittle longer but no big deal. i also used 2 loaf pans and they worked well. Would love to try some orange extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Let me tell you i never made a butter cake before,because i don't to much care for the taste of it.Well let me tell you someone ask me to make them a Tea cake some i was just browsing this site and was looking at the different types of tea cake.And really a tea cake is just a butter cake.Anyway this cake is quite delicious if i might say so myself.I did add 1 tsp of vanilla nut extract to this delightful cake.And you really can eat this cake without frosting.And i'm the type who love frosting on any cake.But this cake stand alone without frosting,my kids even it this cake without frosting.Thanks for a deeelicous recipe.God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is fantastic! My entire family loves this pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grammie cookie
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Cake was delicious! Used dark rum (1/4 c for 14 serving)and almond extract. Also learned that cake serving sizes to pan sizes: 6 servs= 2 6" pans; 14 serv=two 9" pans or one 12" with one 6". I made 3 tier cake two 6", two 9", and two 12" pans. Cake served 130 guests easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was a great recipe. My hunsband is from the south and after 35 years of marriage he finally raved about my pound cake. I have made many variations and this is the one that finally got a five start rating from him. It was easy to make. It was as he said, just like the ones his ma-dear used to make. Thank you for sharing it with me. I will being making several more for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Love this cake!!! I make it for every holiday and sometimes for friends. This cake is ALWAYS a big hit. Love it, Love it, Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States