Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It is dense. It is NOT particularly "butter flavored". It IS sort of lemony. It IS a heavy cake. It should NOT be dry; if it is you screwed something up, probably by trying to cut calories. Don't. It's a pound cake. I found this to be a delicious pound cake, similar in texture to my mother's but not quite what my grandmother made. Mine fell, because I adjusted the servings down to 11 so it'd fit in a standard bundt cake pan; when it passed the toothpick and knife tests, I took it out. It fell about a half hour later. Still tastes great, and I was using it for trifle anyway, so it doesn't mater to me. After sizing to 11 I cooked it for 1 hour in a standard bundt cake pan. This was not long enough (in case that info helps someone else).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is exactly the way pound cake should turn out. Exactly right. I added a tiny pinch of baking powder and baking soda. Didn't have lemon or vanilla extract. I used rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My whole family LOVED this cake. I didn't have lemon so i just added a little extra vanilla. We had it with whippede cream and strawberries and could't get enought. I didn't have any problem with the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I did not care for this! Made this for Easter with the intention of cubing it for TABKAT's strawberry angel food dessert (I wanted a shortcake trifle instead). I thought this would be great... any cake made w/ 2 sticks of REAL butter & whipping cream should be, right??? I had doubts when I tasted a bit of the batter. It was sweet (but in a wierd sort of way... almost like artificial sweetner). At the last min., I realized I didn't have lemon extract, so I subbed 2 tsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice. It took the entire 1.5 hrs. for this to bake. Out of the oven, I let my cake cool in the tube pan I baked it in for ~ 15-20 min. & then inverted it onto a cake platter & covered it over night. The next morning, I cubed it. I noticed that a lot of moisture had formed on the dome of my Tupperware cake cover. To my disappointment, my cake was gummy in spots (i.e. splotchy patches of gumminess thruout). Despite this, I cubed the good parts & had plenty for the purpose intended. I think I should have let my cake cool for at least 45 minutes (maybe a full hr.) before covering. The moisture build-up might have caused the gumminess.... Regardless, I did NOT like the taste & the dense texture. I'd NEVER make this again. I'll stick to the pound cake recipe in my Light & Tasty cookbook which I like much better (and it's better for you too!). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Don't know what happened on the one star rating. I'm not an avid cake baker but this recipe is a keeper. And folks it's a pound cake! It's supposed to be dense. This is a very good cake. Left out the lemon and served topped with strawberries. Everyone thought is was delicious. Will make this recipe many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I must have done something REALLY wrong! This cake was horrible. I must admit I used C&H Bakers sugar instead of regular granulated sugar. The recipe didn't specify what type so that's what I used. I also used Swans Down Cake Flour. My result was a cake that had a crust that formed with approximately 1 inch of space between it and the cake. The cake itself was SUPER heavy and dense. It was more like an extra moist sugar cookie than any cake I ever had. I may try this recipe again and not make any modifications but my results were horrific this first attempt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wobblejelly
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Taste quite good but i reckon its quite sinful because of the whipping cream. Found the top crust was abit hard even though i cut back on baking time. Overall, the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblejelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My husband is more the butter pound cake fan than I am, but this will be my go-to butter pound cake recipe. After a sort of sketchy first attempt with this recipe (which he LOVED), I decided to try it once again at his request, but followed a reviewers advice and used an entire pound of butter. I also increased my cook time to 2 hours and used a cookie sheet underneath my tube pan (I had leakage the 1st time, I've never used a pull apart pan like that). My results were much improved with these changes! I'm having a piece now with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSunflwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a bit worried this wouldn't rise because of the lack of levening agents. Do not worry, it does rise very well! Texture is really nice and dense. Made half a batch and baked in a loaf pan. Used almond extract instead of lemon, just because I didn't have any lemon. I also made it marbled, by adding 3 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate to half the batter, poured the white batter first into pan, and added the choc.batter on to and swirled it into the white with a knife. It took a bit longer to bake through. The top had large cracks in it, which wasn't too pretty when cutting, (hence the four stars for the little bit of dryness)but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This turned out awful! I don't know what happened. After 90 minutes of baking it was still wet. The batter tasted so good, I'm gonna try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaChocolateDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States