Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I substituted butter flavored extract for the lemon as my husband requested a "buttery pound cake". It was a big hit! We have a family of four and it was gone within 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Add cherries and nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Please take it from me...this cake was AWESOME!!! I am very particular when it comes to dishes and baked goods, so when I say it is AWESOME, please believe that it is AWESOME. I made this recipe for my fiancee's Football Playoff BBQ and it was the only dessert of the event so the pressure was truly on. The reviews are pretty accurate about the excess batter the recipe produces, but luckily for me I had an additional loaf pan so I just made divided the batter in half and made two cakes. In mixing the ingredients I added an additional stick of butter and an additional half cup of sugar. I curved the lemon extract a tad to avoid a pronounced lemon taste and I was very pleased with the outcome. I also whipped up some cream cheese frosting (recipe on this site) and threw in a tablespoon of sour cream. I topped it with pineapples and it was perfect. I was truly proud. the cake was firm yet moist and very dense like a pound cake should be. The crust was sinful! Both cakes were devoured by 6 people!!!! My 7-year-old ate 3 pieces alone. Great recipe...great dessert. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly however it was too dry for me and it also had no flavor. I just gave it two stars because it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was pretty good. I am going to keep searching for good pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
it taste more lemon i think next time i will not add lemon or vanilla extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I baked this cake on Thanksgiving, and it turned out very well. It was very moist and had a great flavor. I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This made a beautiful, lush, fluffy, silky batter and that was the tip-off to what I was in for with the actual cake. It's compact and dense, just as it should be, but it's also moist, which isn't always a guarantee with other pound cake recipes. I used the batter for cupcakes, and frosted them with "Special Buttercream Frosting," also from this site. I made the batter exactly as written and I liked the addition of the lemon extract. This is such a good, basic, pound cake recipe, however, that it would be fun to experiment with any number of flavorings. Whether you use this batter for cupcakes, a loaf cake, Bundt, or for a carved, layer or wedding cake, this is a perfect recipe to choose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was by far the best poundcake I have ever made & tried. The one problem I did find was that the first time I made the recipe, there was way too much batter which caused the cake to overflow in my oven. What I now do is make 2 caked with the one batter so I have one for home & one for work. Everyone who tries it, loves it. Definetley a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a great cake! I used this for a 3-D cake and the density and texture were perfect to work with. The flavor was really rich and great tasting. This will be added to my permenant recipe box! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States