Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was a delight to make. I'd totally make again. I used this recipe to make cupcakes and I purposely omitted the vanilla. Because I was aiming for a lemon flavored pounded cake with out the issues of not having any lemon rind or fresh lemons...this was what I was looking for. Thank you. It was totally delightful as cupcakes. It wasn't as dense because I didn't make it in a bundt pan or loaf pan. And I watched the time and checked acordingly to make sure I didn't over cook it either. Baked about 22 minutes roughly. I then cored the center out and filled and topped them with a Lemon marshmellow creme frosting I made. What a perfect combo. Went over very very well. I sort of impressed myself... thanks very very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The cake recipe was wrong and pint of heavy cream is too much leaves the cake wet and half done but after and adjustment of 1/2 pint of heavy cream the cake comes out just great fersure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephiehawk
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Loved it! Very moist and the whole family was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiehawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent ! I substituted 2 C. Buttermilk instead of the whipping cream for a delicious lower fat pound cake. It was rich and dense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious. I added a teaspoon of baking powder and a half teaspoon of salt to it. I also used lemon zest instead of lemon extract. Perfect with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A perfect pound cake recipe. It is dense and moist like a pound cake is supposed to be. It doesn't need any leavening. Just beat the butter and sugar as stated in the directions and it will rise nicely. Instead of vanilla and lemon extract, I used a heaping tbsp of rum extract and 2 tsp of butter extract. I also divided the batter in half and baked it in two loaf pans side by side in the oven. Nothing deceptive here. Just a really good and authentic pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
came out lovely! I added one extra stick of butter. No Lemon, I used 1tsp almond extract, and an extra tsp vanilla. Delicious topped with anything or by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fattygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very, very tasty but MUCH TOO DENSE. I used lemon zest instead of extract, sifted the flour, didn't work it too much, and good lord, talk about your doorstops! Tasty tho; I'll definitely up the butter, lessen the cream, and add some baking powder next time for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is great! I served it warm with sauteed cinnamon and brown sugar peach slices and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sglenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
OMG!!! This cake is delicious!! I made a couple of changes that I felt would be helpful. I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 cup of milk and 1 small container of Activia Vanilla yogurt. I used 2 and 1/2 cups sugar instead of 3 cups and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, baking soda and backing powder. It was so delicious!! You taste the butter and vanilla. I know I'll be making this recipe for a while now. I could not stop eating this delicious cake! I recommend you try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States