Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This recipe is exactly the same as one I used to make when I was a younger man. I had searched for a good pound cake recipe since, but they usually required leavening, which made them to "airy". I prefer a dense cake and this is the best I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
My Granddaughter surprised me with this cake for my birthday. The flavor is wonderful, we didn't put a thing on it. Another time I may add a lemon glaze on top and it just might make it a 6 star cake...will be making this cake a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Made this cake in a square tin and carved into a train shape for my grandson's birthday ... was a huge success both looking and tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Oh My, this is a amazing recipe and the buttery flavor is very present and extremely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I am just about make it for the second time in 3 days.The first one I substituted almond extract for lemon extract. I took it to a party and it went immediately. Everyone was raving about it! Only thing is the 500+ calories per slice...but worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for my church group and served it with strawberries and whipped cream, everyone loved it, even without the toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meeker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
When reading the reviews, I kept wondering about people's comments about the cake being dense. I mean, pound cake is supposed to be dense, right? After baking it, I now know what they mean. It's dense all right, but not in the right way. Something about the texture is off - not the way pound cake should be. It's kind of like wet, VERY sweet bread. I really wanted to like it especially with the expense of the ingredients - but it's just not very good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious. The only thing I adjusted was adding grated zest of one lemon. Brought it to work, a big hit! I am surprised some found it dense/flat/half cooked. I am an amateur baker and have never made a pound cake before. I was craving Sara Lee and could not find it at local grocery stores, so I decided to make it myself. :) Glad I did, so easy and my whole house smells like delicious pound cake; what's not to like! UPDATE: made it bunch more times, a hit every time. I made them in (mini) muffin pan, bundt cake (my fave), and tube pan. The best part of this recipe compares to others, it has so few ingredients and it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Tried this and it's easy to make and the best Pound Cake I've ever had. Everyone that tried it absolutly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this recipe actually as written. It came out flat and dense, with an undercooked appearance. The flavor was good, but not great. However, I will try making it again, maybe adding some leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States