Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This is probably one of the best if not the best pound cake recipe I have ever made. I have made cream cheese, sour cream, buttermilk, etc and whipping cream still seems to be the best to me. I also sell cakes at my work place and of all the pound cakes, my co-worker's order this one the most. So how anybody could say this recipe needs to be taken off the list is totally absurb to me and probably they probably didn't follow the directions correctly. This is definitely an easy no fail recipe. I also have used various flavorings combinations and all have worked out very well. This cake is very moist, easy to make and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
This is a very deceptive recipe and should be taken off the list. I am a very good baker, but this recipe is the worst I've ever prepared. If you want a good pound cake recipe, see the "Cream Cheese Pound Cake" recipe, now THAT recipe is a "no fail" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Oh, my goodness . . . . talk about exceptional! This cake is so incredibly good! I baked one and got such an awesome response that I immediately baked two more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillytuile
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I was asked to make a fondant birthday cake for a friend's mom so I needed a heavy, and of course delicious, cake to carry the weight of the fondant. I looked up every "pound cake" recipe, saw this one, tried it and it was fantastic--rich and dense. I had no lemon extract so I subsituted lemon zest and it worked just as well, giving it a nice fresh taste amongst the buttery richness. I filled it with white chocolate-almond buttercream and it actually complemented the cake. I'm going to make this again, this time I'd fill it with chocolate ganache. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillytuile

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I used this recipe as a base for the cake I made tonight. I noticed that there was no leavening in the cake at all so decided to add 1 tbsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. salt to the flour. Additionally, I sifted the flour to keep it from getting too dense. I didn't have any lemon extract so I ended up using almond and vanilla extract. The result was a very good tasting cake. For those that are having trouble with seepage, try halving the recipe and baking in a smaller tube pan. For those who are having density problems, start playing with adding a little bit of leavening. Mine came out much lighter than I was intending to but I'd rather have that than too dense a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Love this cake!!! I make it for every holiday and sometimes for friends. This cake is ALWAYS a big hit. Love it, Love it, Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful cake!! When I make this cake I use butter flavoring and vanilla extract instead of the lemon and I use 2/3 cup half and half instead of the heavy cream. This has become the recipe that I use for wedding cakes and I always get rave reviews. This is a very moist cake with the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernadette
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Made this the first time following the recipe except added rum instead of lemon. It was very good. Used this the second time to make petite fours for a shower. Made 1/2 of the recipe and baked in a jelly roll pan, then cut and used rolled foundant from this site. Love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This turned out really good. I used 3/4 cup of heavy cream and 1-1/4 cups of buttermilk. It came out super moist and really had a good flavor. I also added a splash of almond extract along with the lemon and vanilla. Good with chai tea. Thanks Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was a very good pound cake. I did not use the lemon extract only the vanilla, very buttery tasting. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States