Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My husband is more the butter pound cake fan than I am, but this will be my go-to butter pound cake recipe. After a sort of sketchy first attempt with this recipe (which he LOVED), I decided to try it once again at his request, but followed a reviewers advice and used an entire pound of butter. I also increased my cook time to 2 hours and used a cookie sheet underneath my tube pan (I had leakage the 1st time, I've never used a pull apart pan like that). My results were much improved with these changes! I'm having a piece now with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSunflwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a bit worried this wouldn't rise because of the lack of levening agents. Do not worry, it does rise very well! Texture is really nice and dense. Made half a batch and baked in a loaf pan. Used almond extract instead of lemon, just because I didn't have any lemon. I also made it marbled, by adding 3 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate to half the batter, poured the white batter first into pan, and added the choc.batter on to and swirled it into the white with a knife. It took a bit longer to bake through. The top had large cracks in it, which wasn't too pretty when cutting, (hence the four stars for the little bit of dryness)but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This turned out awful! I don't know what happened. After 90 minutes of baking it was still wet. The batter tasted so good, I'm gonna try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaChocolateDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This cake is just like my mom's. It's great. Try it with a icing on top. It's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe as a first-time pound cake effort, and was not disappointed. I was trying to recreate a cake my Great-Aunt used to make back in the 50's, on low country SC farm, when I was a child. Her cake had that rough, greasy, grainy texture I've always associated with pound cakes, not the fluffy, powdery fall-apart-in-your hands you get in the chain stores & indeed, even home-baked cakes nowadays. Apparently, nobody wants to use butter, Crisco, even "lard", in cakes. Anyway, this recipe turned out a wonderful, old-time pound cake that a group of 15-odd folks at a Christmas party absolutely loved (and most of them over-50, with similar grandmother memories like me). I did make one change - 2 sticks of butter are not enough for authenticity. I went with the full "pound", 4 sticks, and kept the whipping cream, although I was leery of it....did have the foresight to run to Walmart and get a true tube pan. The bundt pan my wife had would NEVER have accomodated the mix - half would have ended up on the oven bottom. Great recipe, great results. Ray in Covington, GA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was a good cake but too sweet for my taste. I will make it again, but reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I would like to thank the person responsible for this recipe.This cake was absolutely spectacular.I know it will be a long time before I purchase a box of cake mix again.Not only was this my first time making a cake from scratch ,but it was the best cake I ever ate .Thank to all that made this possible.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Taste is amazing, my husband loves this! I had to make more the same day. On first try top came out very toasted and crunchy. I filled up the pan all the way because I thought it wouldn't grow, but it did and overflowed quite a bit. Didn't change the consistency or taste. Still amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Deserves more than 5 stars! The only change I made was I used a bundt pan. The first time it was almost overflowing. The second time I left out a small amount of batter and put it in mini muffin tins. Made a perfect cake and about a dozen small ones for my kids to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
It tasted great ! the top was a bit crunchy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States