Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
OMG!!! This cake is delicious!! I made a couple of changes that I felt would be helpful. I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 cup of milk and 1 small container of Activia Vanilla yogurt. I used 2 and 1/2 cups sugar instead of 3 cups and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, baking soda and backing powder. It was so delicious!! You taste the butter and vanilla. I know I'll be making this recipe for a while now. I could not stop eating this delicious cake! I recommend you try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was the best pound cake I ever made. It rec'd rave reveiws from everyone who ate it. I you follow directions exactly it comes out moist, and tastey. If you beat the butter well 3minutes and add sugar then beat 4 minutes and slowly add remaining ingredients it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kensington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is the best pound cake. Have used it many times and always turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
FAB RECIPE!!! My husband loved it! He said it taste just like the cake his grandmother use to make. I will be using this recipe for years to come. Thanks 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
great...everyone at work loved this recipe. i used cake flour and by mistake table sppons of lemon instead of teaspoons...still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Dangerously Delicious!! I made home made strawberry ice cream to go over it, which was yummy too, but the next few days I kept going back just for another bite of cake every time I went into the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great recipe - except that I didn't have regular butter so I used unsalted, didn't have whipping cream and misread how much it called for, so I used sour cream and only put in 8 ounces - turned out beautifully and I had several people ask me to make them one and where did I get the recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a simple yet great recipe - take the time to cream the butter and sugar THOROUGHLY I let it go for several minutes on a kitchen aid high power mixer - mine fluffs up and actually would rise out of a 9.25 round pan by 1" or more - with no leavening the proper mixing will create air in the sugar and butter part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday and honest to God it was a great success. I have never been a baker, but I decided to try and make a pound cake for the second time. I chose this recipe, and I absolutely love it. I followed the recipe step by step, and I am extremely please. It is beyond me as a ROOKIE baker how someone can say it is deceptive! It is the best pound cake I have ever tasted!!! A must have for cake lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Really delicious. I topped it with berries, ice cream and whipped cream. It's good alone too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States