Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I only left out the lemon extract, and added an additional teaspoon of vanilla. So why after 1hr and 40 min and a touch test, did my cake start to seep wet looking batter after I "Immediately turn out on cake rack to cool". So after putting it back in an additional 6 minutes, and cooling over night, I have a heavy, dry floury corn bread tasting mess? Will not try this again, although it bothers me that this got so many good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was a very good pound cake. I did not use the lemon extract only the vanilla, very buttery tasting. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This turned out really good. I used 3/4 cup of heavy cream and 1-1/4 cups of buttermilk. It came out super moist and really had a good flavor. I also added a splash of almond extract along with the lemon and vanilla. Good with chai tea. Thanks Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Spectacular!!!! The best pound cake I've ever had. All I changed was I dropped the amount of lemon extract down to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved it, my husband and several friends said it was the best pound cake they ever ate. Although if you are looking for just a butter flavor this isn't the cake for you. It does have a nice lemony butter flavor. But the name is deceiving. I will continue to make this recipe but not because it is a butter pound cake. Although next time I may try it without the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was a very good pound cake. I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt which I felt was needed because of the amount of sugar that was used. Turned out great! sk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Oh, my goodness . . . . talk about exceptional! This cake is so incredibly good! I baked one and got such an awesome response that I immediately baked two more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! This is an awesome cake! I made a 8x4 loaf and a 12" round cake from this recipe. It was a creamy bread. (could be all the yummy fat in it :)) I will DEFINETLY make this recipe again. I topped it with whipped cream for extra goodness. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
The cake was okay... I wasn't a fan of the lemon flavor... I was expecting more of an entenmann's butter flavor; considering the name of the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I enjoyed this cake, however found that it lacked flavor. It definately needs fruit or whipped cream to spruce it up. Overall it was dense and very poundcake like. I was looking for something a little more sweet/lemony. I did enjoy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trl4680

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States