Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This turned out really good. I used 3/4 cup of heavy cream and 1-1/4 cups of buttermilk. It came out super moist and really had a good flavor. I also added a splash of almond extract along with the lemon and vanilla. Good with chai tea. Thanks Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Spectacular!!!! The best pound cake I've ever had. All I changed was I dropped the amount of lemon extract down to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved it, my husband and several friends said it was the best pound cake they ever ate. Although if you are looking for just a butter flavor this isn't the cake for you. It does have a nice lemony butter flavor. But the name is deceiving. I will continue to make this recipe but not because it is a butter pound cake. Although next time I may try it without the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was a very good pound cake. I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt which I felt was needed because of the amount of sugar that was used. Turned out great! sk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Oh, my goodness . . . . talk about exceptional! This cake is so incredibly good! I baked one and got such an awesome response that I immediately baked two more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! This is an awesome cake! I made a 8x4 loaf and a 12" round cake from this recipe. It was a creamy bread. (could be all the yummy fat in it :)) I will DEFINETLY make this recipe again. I topped it with whipped cream for extra goodness. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
The cake was okay... I wasn't a fan of the lemon flavor... I was expecting more of an entenmann's butter flavor; considering the name of the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I enjoyed this cake, however found that it lacked flavor. It definately needs fruit or whipped cream to spruce it up. Overall it was dense and very poundcake like. I was looking for something a little more sweet/lemony. I did enjoy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trl4680

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This pound cake is fantastic! My husband says it tastes just like the one his Granny used to make. Everyone I have served it to has asked for the recipe and actually made it themselves also. My neighbor now makes this almost every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is just a wonderful 'classic' pound cake recipe. As a young person (age 22), I struggle to find ways to cook things and make them taste like grandma made it, but this recipe is a real keeper for me! And its very easy as far as pound cakes go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States