Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I have to agree w/ MKCALVIN, and the others who said this recipe was bad. Much too dense, even for a poundcake (and I love dense poundcake). The reviewer who wrote about the "seeping liquid" in the top of the cake - yes, it happened to me also. I am not a beginner baker, either. Not a good recipe - would never use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This cake smells wonderful while baking. I used margarine instead of butter, and 2/3 cup skim milk instead of cream, so I was worried how it would turn out, but it was great! Try spreading a little margarine on a slice when it's still warm. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My husband just loved the pound cake and he is a picky eater. However I did not use the lemon flavor since he does not care for it and instead used 3 tbl vanilla flavor. I also did not have a tube pan and ended up deviding the mixture into 2 pans. The baking time was the same and they came out looking wonderful. The next time I will use half of the recipe or try and find a tube pan. But be warned it is very rich tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I was not very successful with this recipie. This cake was much too dense even for POUND CAKE. I tried to eat it regardless of the texture. However, I ended up throwing the majority of it in the trash. I will not make this recipie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCOASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
C'est si bon...every slice, every morsel, every bite dear, leads to only one thought and it's this dear...it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I cut this recipe in half and baked it in a loaf pan. Best homemade Pound Cake ever had. Served it with fresh Stawberries, Mangos, and Blueberrie and cream. Everyone had two pieces. Very moist not to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
My younger cousins and I, baked it for our thanksgiving dinner and it came out so good that we had people fighting that they didnt want to share. We recommend vanilla or chocolate frosting and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
too dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I only left out the lemon extract, and added an additional teaspoon of vanilla. So why after 1hr and 40 min and a touch test, did my cake start to seep wet looking batter after I "Immediately turn out on cake rack to cool". So after putting it back in an additional 6 minutes, and cooling over night, I have a heavy, dry floury corn bread tasting mess? Will not try this again, although it bothers me that this got so many good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was a very good pound cake. I did not use the lemon extract only the vanilla, very buttery tasting. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States