Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Excellent! Didn't have lemon extract, used the lemon rind for something else, so I used lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This came out great. I didn't have cream so I used buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillytuile
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I was asked to make a fondant birthday cake for a friend's mom so I needed a heavy, and of course delicious, cake to carry the weight of the fondant. I looked up every "pound cake" recipe, saw this one, tried it and it was fantastic--rich and dense. I had no lemon extract so I subsituted lemon zest and it worked just as well, giving it a nice fresh taste amongst the buttery richness. I filled it with white chocolate-almond buttercream and it actually complemented the cake. I'm going to make this again, this time I'd fill it with chocolate ganache. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillytuile

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This pound cake is absolutely fantastic! I searched for a recipe that did not use shortening, and am VERY pleased with the results. I used two small loaf pans the first time, and my husband, mother and co-workers loved it so much that I went home and made two more! My husband has already requested that I make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I used this recipe as a base for the cake I made tonight. I noticed that there was no leavening in the cake at all so decided to add 1 tbsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. salt to the flour. Additionally, I sifted the flour to keep it from getting too dense. I didn't have any lemon extract so I ended up using almond and vanilla extract. The result was a very good tasting cake. For those that are having trouble with seepage, try halving the recipe and baking in a smaller tube pan. For those who are having density problems, start playing with adding a little bit of leavening. Mine came out much lighter than I was intending to but I'd rather have that than too dense a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this recipe 2 days ago. It's nice but I think i should have left the lemon extract out. I love the cake otherwise. can't eat it regularly cuz it's too rich for daily use :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This cake was easy to make and tasted fantastic! I took it to work and it got rave reviews. Those people who complained about it not turning out right must have been doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful cake!! When I make this cake I use butter flavoring and vanilla extract instead of the lemon and I use 2/3 cup half and half instead of the heavy cream. This has become the recipe that I use for wedding cakes and I always get rave reviews. This is a very moist cake with the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I just made this cake yesterday and had some problems with the liquid seeping to the top at the end of the baking. I followed the directions to a "T", but I did have to cook it an extra 6 minutes to try to get it to set. I took it to a party last night and it got raves! It was definately a cake that taste better after it has cooled or the day after than it did right from the oven! I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Very Good pound cake recipe,Used almond extract instead of lemon,very tasty.Will make again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States