Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I followed the directions pretty closely, substituting the lemon extract for an additional vanilla. I also split it into two Anchor Hocking glass loaves for baking. It was 100% perfect, and I am not exactly the world's best baker. This cake would have done my grandmother proud. Everyone that has tried it LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melony Clark
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I thought it came out great. It reminded me of my grandmothers pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melony Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I don't know what I am doing wrong. This is the 2nd recipe I have used and they both fell and didn't cook in the middle. My tube pan is very old and the kind that the tube/bottom lift out, it leaked alot both times. Maybe a new tube pan is the trick. I am going to try again but not for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is the best pound cake omg so good it takes time but it's worth it I put strawberries n cool whip on it it's too die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Everyone at my house LOVED this! I left out the lemon and substituted almond extract. I also halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. I had to bake it longer, but it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Goebel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deeberry
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Love love this recipe!!! Light and moist. ...Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This cake turned out perfect! I am new to baking so I have been trying several different simple cake recipes. I am very picky when it comes to cake so when I say it was good it was GOOD! I did add a box of instant lemon pudding and 1/2 tsp of baking powder and baking soda. But the whipping cream definitely made the cake very moist. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe,only thing I did different was a cup of pistachios,finely chopped on the cake as I put it in for baking and five minutes before I took it out of the oven I put ten ferrero rocher chocolates on top...well cannot put a picture as there is just a small piece remaining!! Thank you,gor this perfect recipe:) we love it:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Love this recipe. Easy to make, and delicious. Like others I used vanilla extract. For those who didnt like it or better yet request to remove from list, you might want to try baking it again. As a very good baker it should be easy to bake this cake. Its easy, standard and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is the best recipe I've ever known for this particular cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States