Butter Pecan Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anna Mae
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I just finished making a double batch of these wonderful cookies. I don't understand what other reviewers mean when they say this recipe doesn't make many cookies. I doubled everything and got 10 dozen cookies! Even half of that is 5 dozen! Here are the changes I made: I put a teaspoon of vanilla and about a cup of finely chopped pecans in the (doubled) batter, and after rolling into a one inch ball, dipped each one half way in a bowl containing Sugar In The Raw. It's light brown, has larger crystals then regular sugar, and very sparkly. Then I flattened each cookie with the bottom of a glass and put a nice whole pecan in the middle. They are absolutely delicious and they look wonderful! These are now on my list to make every year! Thanks!!.....12/15/09 an update: My last batch is in the oven so I have time for a quick update. This year I got 16 DOZEN when I doubled everything! I think it's because of 2 things: refrigerate the dough over night and use a melon baller to scoop out the portions. BTW, mine took 10 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Adding vanilla is a must in this recipe. Refrigerating overnight makes a better dough. We tried different "add ons", i.e. chocolate chips, cinnamon, powdered sugar, etc. and found that turning this recipe into a Pecan Sandie by adding chopped pecans to the batter, leaving the balls whole for baking and rolling in powdered sugar after baking was the best. By leaving these in a ball, the cookie was thicker and more cake like, so it would just be your own personal preference to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
These cookies are moist and very pretty. I used a whole cup of brown sugar since I like my cookies sweet...good butter pecan flavor...I also added about 1/2 tsp vanilla...recipe makes a smaller batch than most...I'll make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is a very good and easy recipe! I dipped my glass bottom in sugar instead of flour. It gives the cookie more of a sugar cookie taste. I also put a cherry on top of half the batch of cookies and on the other half I did the pecan. Definately a good recipe for the holidays and one to keep to use every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLAWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a wonderful, melt-in-your-mouth recipe. I printed it two days ago, and I have already used it TWICE! I would suggest putting sugar on the bottom of the glass as well, it gives the cookies even more flavor! FANTASTIC JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe! The dough comes out very sticky, but do not add more flour! After refrigeration it comes out perfectly. I made that mistake once. Also added 1/2 tsp. vanilla which tasted lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
The recipe is quick and easy. They taste great and can be served for any occasion! Lacie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies were absolutely delicious! I added an 8th of a cup of extra sugar and some chopped pecans to the batter and they turned out just perfect! I will be making them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These were a hit at school today! I used the sugar instead of flour to flatten the cookies and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/8 tsp of almond extrat - literally just a few drops. The cookie sheet does not need to be greased - I tried it both ways and liked the final baked shape of the "ungreased" cookies better. Cooled on the cookie sheet for about 10 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very bland. Next time I will try adding vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States