Butter Pecan Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anna Mae
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I just finished making a double batch of these wonderful cookies. I don't understand what other reviewers mean when they say this recipe doesn't make many cookies. I doubled everything and got 10 dozen cookies! Even half of that is 5 dozen! Here are the changes I made: I put a teaspoon of vanilla and about a cup of finely chopped pecans in the (doubled) batter, and after rolling into a one inch ball, dipped each one half way in a bowl containing Sugar In The Raw. It's light brown, has larger crystals then regular sugar, and very sparkly. Then I flattened each cookie with the bottom of a glass and put a nice whole pecan in the middle. They are absolutely delicious and they look wonderful! These are now on my list to make every year! Thanks!!.....12/15/09 an update: My last batch is in the oven so I have time for a quick update. This year I got 16 DOZEN when I doubled everything! I think it's because of 2 things: refrigerate the dough over night and use a melon baller to scoop out the portions. BTW, mine took 10 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a wonderful, melt-in-your-mouth recipe. I printed it two days ago, and I have already used it TWICE! I would suggest putting sugar on the bottom of the glass as well, it gives the cookies even more flavor! FANTASTIC JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These are amazing!!! I added the extra brown sugar and the vanilla extract in the other comments. Will add this to my recipe box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe! The dough comes out very sticky, but do not add more flour! After refrigeration it comes out perfectly. I made that mistake once. Also added 1/2 tsp. vanilla which tasted lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Just made these, yummy!..I did add a little vanilla and chopped pecans as others suggested..This is a keeper for sure..Thanks for sharing..:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My daughter made these for Thanksgiving. My, were they yummy! No need to change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I've never made better cookies! I've been trying to get into baking more,and these cookies really helped me get the gist of it.I did add the 1 tsp vanilla,but otherwise followed the directions. Very good,and a good base recipe to add things to.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee927

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottondale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I love these cookies. They are my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oddible
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Easy, delicious cookies. Just the right sweetness. I flattened my first batch out quite a bit and they're crisp thin cookies. The second batch is in the oven now and I left them a bit thicker. I also crushed some pecans and sprinkled them on the top. Says original recipe yields 4 dozen - mine came to 2 dozen so double it if you're expecting 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My family loved these cookies, really nice,(I love them too but am supposed to be on a diet) I think they will be a big favourite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northampton, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States