Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'm not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly. The bars were way too thick and never got completely done, even after cooking them 10+ extra minutes. The recipe sounded great and I really wanted the bars to work out, so I made a second batch and they turned out the same as the first batch. They definitely need to be in a bigger pan than 8x8. I was preparing the bars to take to a party. Even though I wasn't happy with the results, I took them anyway. They didn't turn out pretty, so it was hard to get people to try them. Those that did try them, said they liked them, but there were a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
So delicious and rich, but tend to come out a little goopy sometimes. I've made these for several years during the holidays, and the consistency is hard to get right. This year was the worst. I don't know if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a super treat! I have gotten friends hooked on it - they ask if I'll ahve them when they come to visit! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Tres magnifique! We add chocolate chips. It's now one of our favorite desserts. My 10 y.o. daughter makes it all by herself. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
very rich. needs more pecans. one comment recieved was if they are pecan bars where are the pecans. maybe chopping pecan would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Too good. I made these for a tough crowd-we have several wonderful amateur cooks and one or two culinary professionals. Well, they all hovered over this plate of pecan bars and asked for the recipe. Be sure and let the recipe cool before cutting into bars-less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I made this in a larger pan, because others complained about it not cooking well enough. I ended up overbaking it so it didn't turn out well, which is my fault. Regardless of that, the flavor was pretty good, they tasted like pecan pie; but they didn't have the jellyish texture of pecan pie that I like so much, so I doubt I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I thought it tasted wonderful. I see that others felt the center didn't cook so I'm not alone. Perhaps this isn't supposed to be cake like but more pudding like??? Anyway, I left it in for 10 more minutes on the lower rack. Then left it in the oven for another 5 after I turned the oven off. I'll make it again as I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I baked the bars for 12 minutes longer than the said. They were gooey but more like raw cookie dough. The flavor was great - Anything with so much butter and pecans would be!I would not bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
These were really quick and easy!!!! Didn't even pull out the mixer,mixed it all by hand.I did use a larger pan,which probably made them not as gooey,but they were very good and everyone loved them.As we have 16 pecan trees these will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States