Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
YUMM! As another reviewer suggested, I baked these at 300 degrees for one hour and allowed them to cool in the turned off oven. I also added 3/4 cup chocolate chips and 3/4 cup butterscotch chips. Next time, I think I'll add some coconut. This is definitely a keeper recipe. My family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I just made this recipe, following it to the letter, and would not make it again. The batter is tasteless. The only thing you can taste are the pecans and the chocolate chips. My husband didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
So yummy! These bars took a lot of patience and tinkering with the timing. On my second try I baked for 60 minutes at 300 degrees and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I think I should have read all the reviews before trying this recipe. Mine turned out like a couple of others and were too gooey. I even baked them longer than the recipe specified. I'm a pretty seasoned baker, and I'm usually sure when a dish is done but this one completely deceived me. The toothpick came out clean, the center bounced back from the touch, and the edges were browned, but as the dish cooled, the center collapsed. While I am a fan of half-baked cookies, that was not my impression of this recipe. While the taste was pretty good, I doubt I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Unfortunately, mine were not gooey as i had hoped for, but nevertheless this was a great recipe and they were still chewy. i cut down the white sugar to 1/2 cup and added some choc. chips and walnuts and the flavor was awesome. i think next time i will only bake for 35 min. maybe that will make it more gooey will definitely make again..thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Not very tasty, bland flavour, a bit greasy. I followed the recipe to a T, and I wasn't impressed. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I just finished baking & tasting the Butter Pecan Bars. I changed the recipe due to the ingredients I had on hand. I used self-rising flour instead of all-purpose and I added 3/4 c. choc. chips to the mix. I made sure the sugars and butter were creamed to a fluffy light color. The final outcome was terrific. I can visually see the inside is soft and the outside is chewy. I cooked for 40 min. in a 350 oven. I had some pecans I wanted to use up and I am glad I found this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
The flavor is AWESOME, and I usually like my cookies a little undercooked, but this is a gooey mess. Any suggestion on how not to make this one a success?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'm not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly. The bars were way too thick and never got completely done, even after cooking them 10+ extra minutes. The recipe sounded great and I really wanted the bars to work out, so I made a second batch and they turned out the same as the first batch. They definitely need to be in a bigger pan than 8x8. I was preparing the bars to take to a party. Even though I wasn't happy with the results, I took them anyway. They didn't turn out pretty, so it was hard to get people to try them. Those that did try them, said they liked them, but there were a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
So delicious and rich, but tend to come out a little goopy sometimes. I've made these for several years during the holidays, and the consistency is hard to get right. This year was the worst. I don't know if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States