Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Since I found this recipe two weeks ago, I've made it four times. I really love it. I like it as is and I like it with coconut. I have found that I need to bake it significantly longer than the recipe says, but that isn't enough to make me give it fewer stars. Here are my personal preferences: use chopped pecans, use 1 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and no white sugar, use 1 cup coconut, throw in a pinch of baking soda (about 1/4 tsp.). That combination works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Easy to follow recipe. When it came out of the oven, I thought it was going to be like a big cookie, since it looked hard and crunchy on top. And then I cut it! Ooh, the yummy gooey goodness! I added semisweet chocolate chips, which actually helped cut the sweetness of it. It is a seriously sweet recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Made these because my, 30-yr-old son, was coming over the next day. These are so awesome, I froze what I didn't eat...what he doesn't know, won't hurt him. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I wanted to try something new in baking up a treat over the weekend. Let me tell you, I am SO glad I tried these - they did NOT disappoint!!! No joke, I'd say they are the most delicious cookie-bar type dessert I've ever had!!! I did have to cook them a little longer than the instructions (I think about five more minutes), and then they came out at the perfect gooey-ness, at least for my taste - retains form but moist and chewy. I DID make a couple "tweaks" to the recipe (I can't help myself, I like experimenting with what I cook) - I used all dark brown sugar (instead of half brown and half white), used a mix of 8 oz. of pecan bits and 8 oz. of pecan halves, and added milk chocolate chips (about a half bag or so). I will make these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I took the advice of a previous review and cut the flour. lowered the temp and extended the cooking time to make the bars extra chewy and they turned out very well. My only issue with them was they were a little bland for my taste. I think if I were to make them again I would add some toffee chips to liven the taste up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicnanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These were a huge hit with my family. I've made them several times. They remind me of a Pecan pie in a bar! Baked at 350 for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These are good. I wanted them to be more chewy. I cut the flour down by a 1/4 cup. Added a cup of pecans. Bake them in a 300 oven for 50 mins, in a 9 x 13 pan. I liked them much better this way. Thinner and more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made these as shown and they were GREAT! In my oven they came out gooey in the center of the pan and a little crispy along the edges. A little bit of everything for everyone--I'll make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southerncook
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Oh my gosh, I could tell you this recipe by heart. Everyone in my family loves these except for me. I have had to make these over and over again in the last few weeks. My sister said all she wants for her birthday are these lol! Im not to big on them though. I followed the other reviewers advice and cooked mine at 300 for 60 mins and then let them sit in the oven for about an hour. Im sure this is a recipe that will be in my family forever now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southerncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Wow! What more can I say? I actually RUINED these by adding chocolate pieces- it made them unbearably rich! Plus, in my opinion, they were no where near as good when you got a bite of chocolate with the bar- and I LOVE chocolate. The pieces without the chocolate were incredible! I will be making these a lot in the future- WITHOUT THE CHOCOLATE!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States