Butter Mochi Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I followed the directions exactly. It came out the same as the pic, but it taste disgusting! It's rubbery and chewy. It's like chewing on an oily rubber toy. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ives11
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I spent some time in Asia in college and this tasted exactly like the desserts I would get over there. Made it for my family and sad to say, not a hit what so ever. I also did not use the red bean ( I think I had enough of it to last my life time a few years ago) but used a suggested alternative, pinapple, which did add a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This turned out really delicious!! The bake time (at least with my oven) was a little too long - took it out after 55 min and the edges were already getting dark. Also, I think I might cut back on the butter next time, or not grease the dish, as there was butter literally pooling on the top of the cake when I took it out of the oven. The texture and flavor were spot on, and I will definitely make this again with the tweaks mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Delicious! I halved the recipe (and therefore used an 8x8 pan and baked for about 30 min.) but did everything else as written. The cake is chewy and sweet and I love that rice flavor. I had extra mochiko (sweet rice flour) & am so glad I took a chance and tried this recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This recipe came out very dry and crumbly. Stuck to the pan really bad even with cooking spray. I've had Butter Mochi recipes that turned out great and I was craving it so I tried this recipe, very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Yum! I did omit the red bean paste and put shredded coconut on the top. We served it at a Cub Scout dinner and everyone loved it. It was gone in a flash. I also cooked it in a water bath. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This cake (heated up) with vanilla ice-cream is delicious. I recommend having it with something like ice cream or sorbet to balance the sweet/buttery taste of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The "scant teaspoonfuls" were too small and stayed on top (bottom) of my cake. Next time I'll drop more like TBs and try to shove some into the batter. Overall very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Quite good. Quite authentic. My first attempt turned out a bit on the dry side, but I think it's due to my inexperience with cooking at altitude. The flavors were good. I will try it again, adjusting for altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a really easy recipe and just like the mochi that I've always loved! It's really good. I make my mochi with a filling inside. Sometimes I use peanuts and sugar, coconut, red bean, or taro filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States