Butter Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I know this is VERY LONG, but these are specific instructions on how to get your MINTS to TURN OUT! Well, yes! Making butter mints is not as easy as pie! There are a few helpful hints and "know hows" that might give you more of an idea on how and what to do. Making mints is really a science! No really! First and foremost (my very strong suggestion, it can be done without it, but I wouldn't attempt it!) Is get yourself a smoothed/polished marble slab or granite (marble is better it can be less pouruos)wash and butter it (with real butter!) and get it in the freezer or outside if it's freezing (you know, snow) In the winter time I store mine outside in a large garbage bag always at the ready ;) You will use this. The reason why she tells you to cover the pot so that sugar crystals will get washed down is because if there is just ONE grain of undesolved sugar, it has the potential to turn All the rest of the batch to sugar and keep it from becoming the heavenly little candy that it is. A suggestion here (and what I always do) is take a clean, good bristle baster, next to your pan put your bastor in about 2 cups of warm water and as your mixture is boiling, take the bastor and baste down the sides of the pan with the water rinsing the bastor (in your warm water) frequently paying attention that you see no sugar crystals anywhere on the sides. Once that's done and you are sure there's no sugar on the sides, leave it alone! No more stirring! Don't fuss with it! Let it reach t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I tried this recipe twice and both times it failed to produce what the recipe claimed. After about a minute using the spatula to bring the candy to the center, it started to sugar on me. Needless to say, it didn't turn out as expected and I didn't even get to the part of buttering hands and stretching it. And yes, I did check my candy thermometer for the boiling point of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I'm not sure how KKATT82 was able to get this recipe to produce Butter Mints. All I was able to make was mint sugar. Better luck to future cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe IF you are very very careful to stop cooking at exactly 260 degrees. You also have to make sure that the room is low humidity. High humidity or overcooking the mixture will cause it to yield a pile of mint sugar instead of lovely butter mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I have also wasted the ingredients on this recipe. My wife says that I should never put in a metal pan. She says that I should use marble slab. Something about the metal reacts with the sugar. Not sure I want to try again, but if I do, I'll let you guys know. In the meantime I'm still looking for a good mint recipe. Any out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Like the two others, I failed to make this recipe work as well. It turned into a crytalized sugary mess. I as well followed the directions specifically and am not sure what would be missing from this recipe or wrong because as it stands, it doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I too had a difficult time with this recipe. Wish I would have read the reviews before I wasted all the ingreidients not to mention my time. Please post what went wrong with this recipe or what we did wrong. Very Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I was making these for a wedding shower. I used a heavy duty themometer. I ended up with a big pile of sugary buttery mess when I started to pull it. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe, however, not easy for the beginner. In order to make it turn out right I had to start with a smaller recipe. I made 1/3 the recipe at a time.It is Much easier to handle and did not sugar. I did use a marble slab and buttered it. I did not refridgerate it. I think the secret seems to be to not start working it too soon. let it sit till it really is cool enough to handle. Doing the smaller batch was a great deal easier and the results are so worth it. Just like my favorite butter mints. Thank you for this terrific recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Unless you are a Master Candy Maker don't even think about trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States