Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I can't imagine why this recipe doesn't have more positive ratings!!! Firstly my local grocery store didn't have garam masala so I made my own : 2 cinnamon sticks 3 dried bay leaves 3 tbsp cumin seeds 2 tbsp coriander seeds 4 cardamom pods, crushed 1 tbsp cloves 1 tsp black peppercorns 1 tbsp ground mace Dry roast the ingredients, let cool and grind to a fine powder(you can use spice mill or coffee grinder). Store in the pantry for up to 1 month and in the refrigerator for up to 3 months. I also didn't have any creme fraiche so I used heavy whipping cream and one word for this : YUMMY!!!My boyfriend and I could not get enough of this!! Please try this you will not regret it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is a good recipe--and with a few changes it is amazing. I like a little more sauce with a little more flavor, so I doubled everything except the meat and garam masala. Keep the meat quantity as it is and quadruple the garam masala (2 tsp. total). With those tweaks, this recipe was very much like the curries I used to eat in England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sara
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good flavour, was a nice meal with rice and peas.Simple & delicious. This is a simple, easy recipe with great flavor! Even my picky husband really liked it.I added an extra couple of potatoes. my kids loved this easy meal.it wasnt to spicey or hot. More recipies please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG! This is so good, but only after adding additional seasoning. I prepared it as directed in the recipe using cubed chicken thighs and tasted it half way through. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor, at least not as robust as what we get at our local Indian restaurant. So, I added an additional 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t. chili powder and 1 T. tomato paste. Made all the difference! Also, I couldn't find creme fraiche so I substituted 1/4 c. cream and 1/4 c. sour cream. If you like Indian food, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I've made it twice so far - first time with pork, second time with chicken - and loved it! Next time I make it with pork, I'll reduce the cooking time, since the pork turned out a little dry - but the sauce made up for it, no worries. The chicken turned out perfect - I can't wait to make it with lamb! I also doubled the amount of tomato paste. Instead of water and creme fresh I only used one glass of 1% fat milk. The taste is just as great! I also used more of the spices for taste and added about one teaspoon coriander powder. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good! I made my own American-girl creme fraiche with sour cream and heavy cream. I added quite a bit more spice to this - as written it's good, but a little bland. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was good, but not outanding. I would recommend doubling the spices for sure. I did not have creme fraiche, so I used 1/4c. sour cream and 1/4 C half & half instead. After browing the lamb, I drained off all but 2T of the fat, but then as it cooked, there wasn't enough liquid. I added more cream to compensate. After tasting about 1/2 way through, I added salt, another Tbsp of tomato paste. It definitely improved after adding the honey, cream & cilantro to finish. Don't leave any of those out. The end product was tasty, but I'll tweak it with add'l spice next time and maybe use chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
We liked this a lot. It's a great dish because it has good flavor in minimal time, and would work with any meat. I will definitely make this again. It tasted great in the pot, but seemed a little bland when served over rice, so for our tastes we will triple the spices (I already doubled them). I made this on a whim and had to sub plain yogurt for the creme fraiche and skip the cilantro, so I can't wait to try it as the author intended. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It's a keeper! Double the spices as others suggested. Can also use more tomatoe paste. Instead of creme fraiche used some milk and greek yogurt. came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was great. Have made with lamb and chicken... actually prefered the chicken. Also baked a light fish in the 'gravy' and was fantastic (tried talapia).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States