Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I wanted to try using tumeric and found this recipe. I followed the recipe with these changes: pork instead of lamb, spinach instead of cilantro, 1/3 cup diced stewed tomatoes in juice instead of paste, sour cream, and about 1/4 cup of my homemade chicken broth. I also bumped up the spices a little, but not much since I never used tumeric before. I think I'd feel comfortable bumping it up a bit more next time. Served it over my homemade pasta. This is a nice way to introduce more aromatic spices to our mild-mannered cuisine. Thanks for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Love this recipe, easy to make and very tasteful...There is a sweet aftertaste after the " spicy" I guess it's because of the honey,, Next time I'll omit that ingredient and see how it turns out as I am more into spicy then sweet... Besides this, I will also double the sauce to get more as it doesnt make that much. Served on rice it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe so much I counted stop eating it! I did a few variations because I didn't have heavy cream and I used sour cream. Also I cooked it in a cast iron skillet and placed it in the oven on a slow bake of 275 for about an hour. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I accidentally double the honey, but I'm glad I did. It was delish!!! Definitely making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I hate to rate recipes that I made changes on, but the changes were made out of necessity and I know the original recipe would be very good. I used beef because 2lbs of lamb is expensive. I didn't have garam masala, so I used curry because I figured it would work in this dish. The sauce was awesome and you could add any veggie you'd want in it. I did add a cornstarch mixture to give it a more gravy like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I don't eat red meat but cooked this for my husband and brother in law. He enjoyed it and felt it was very flavorful. For me, I had to cook this for way longer than 20min. My dish was very watery and looked nothing like the picture. I ended up cooking for about an hour or so and added a bit of flour to thicken up the gravy. As per the other recommendations, I also went a bit heavy handed on the salt and other spices. there was lots of flavor in the dish. Will make again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is sensational. Flavour was so good. I thought there would be leftovers, but I was wrong! Everyone cleaned their plate and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Added potatoes as well and went less on the spicy so my daughter can eat it but it was still tasty first time cooking lamb besides grilling this was good. And pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I normally make first-time recipes exactly per the instructions, but after reading several reviews I decided to play with the spice amounts a bit. I ended up using 4x the garam masala just to coat the lamb and doubled all the other spices that went into the dish as well as doubling the liquids for added gravy. I thought it turned out pretty decent, but still just a bit bland. I served it over basmati rice and had a side of garlic naan from my local ethnic grocer. I would probably make it again if lamb weren't so expensive ($10/lb) and I hadn't already found a similar chicken recipe. Overall, it was still pretty good and easy to make. Definitely worth a try, just make sure you add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The blend of flavors in this dish is quite good. And, as others have said, it needs more. I more than tripled the seasonings and found that to be more suited to our tastes. The speed and ease with which the dish comes together make it a good choice for a quicker meal, particularly if you cut and season the meat and toss it into a baggie in the morning and can just dump it into the skillet in the evening. For that reason, with the seasoning adjustments, its a good recipe to have in your files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States