Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe is good yet, I made some adjustments to make it better. Instead of butter I used cream cheese the icing seemed to hold together better and I used almond flavoring in place of vanilla. After my slight adjustments I can then make this icing thick enough for cinnamon rolls or thin enough to 'paint' my christmas cookies. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've used this recipe a few times now. And I love it. I just want to leave a note about the vanilla. It seems that when using real vanilla extract 1 teaspoon is plenty and when using imitation vanilla the tablespoon is more appropriate. Thanks to everyone else who rated this first or I might not have figured out what was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was a wonderfully simple icing recipe. Instead of using the full tablespoon of vanilla I used just 1 tsp of almond flavoring and it turned out great, especially when paired with the cream cheese sugar cookies recipe from this site. Add a few drops of different colors, spoon into a ziploc baggie and I was good to go. After about 2-3 hours the icing hardened enough to stack the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I usually read the reviews first, and boy do I wish I had this time! I was in a hurry, so used 1 TBSP of Pure Vanilla Extract ... Oh My Gosh! I added Cherry Flavoring to try to hide the vanilla taste, as well as more margarine and powder sugar. Definitely NOT 1 TBSP of Vanilla! It was alright besides the strong, strong vanilla taste. Seems to set o.k. Pretty glaze w/red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
the flavor is good, but it didn't harden like i wish it would. the icing smeared after i placed the cookies in their bags...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This recipe was fast and turned out very creamy. However, it calls for WAY too much vanilla. Half the amount is a better guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
The whole tablespoon of vanilla was too much-and without the foodcoloring, it makes brown icing. I would lessen the vanilla to a tsp., not a whole tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is an easy and yummy recipe for frosting. It is a little too heavy on the vanilla, so I cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Great glaze for anise cut outs. Note: Please use clear vanilla extract which is available at Michael's, etc. Clear vanilla prevents the brown icing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I think something is wrong with the measurements on this recipe. 1 TABLESPOON of Vanilla seems like it's too much. My sister and I tried it and all you can taste is the vanilla (WAY TOO STRONG).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States