Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
With 1tsp of vanilla, this icing was delicious. I added an additional tbsp of milk, which made an icing ideal for finer piping work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
In the end I prefer just powder sugar w/vanilla and milk added as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This will not harden! Otherwise, the recipe is great! I used water instead of milk (since I didn't have any) and it was still fine, nice and smooth with an electric mixer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
BEWARE of the VANILLA!! I think 1TBSP is not accurate, had to be a misprint..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is a great go to butter frosting recipe. No need to change anything. If I wanted cream cheese frosting, I would ask for a cream cheese recipe, no, this is super tasty and rich just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brewer Schmecht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
it worked GREAT for my cookies. As everybody said, I cut way back on the vanila and still felt it was a little to much... I will try with even less vanila next time. I did the mix and used liquid food coloring, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I am reviewing this As Written- no modifications. The recipe calls for way to much vanilla extract. One teaspoon to one and a half would be fine. A whole tablespoon makes the frosting taste like extract. The consistency/end appearance were great but beware- don't follow the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
AMAZING!!!!! and super easy too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBear
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Awesome frosting! I usually try to follow the recipe exactly but as much as I love vanilla I did use about 1/2 the amount called for and just a touch extra milk to get the right consistency. Dried perfectly but still soft for the kids sugar cookies! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe I didn't reduce the vanilla but you definitely could. Also, the vanilla extract turns the icing a slightly brown color so I dyed it green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States