Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The recipe was pretty good. I added another tablespoon of milk and several tablespoons of powdered sugar to balance out the recipe. I used the frosting to make about four colors to decorate the Christmas Tree cookies, also on this site. They turned out delicious, melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great recipe. i did cut down on the vanilla. this will be my go to Christmas cookie frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Agree with many of the other reviews about the amount of vanilla...too much and too strong. Next time I will use less, and use clear vanilla, so the colors are more vibrant. It is smart to check the reviews ahead of jumping in...lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
excellent for quick setup on cutouts, works well both spread on and with the Wilton decorator pro. I used half & half instead of milk to make it a bit stiffer and dry quickly but kept all proportions the same. flavorings can be adjusted to suit the taste with any variety of extracts but the main point is that it works so well with cutouts and dries so quickly, allowing you to stack them in between sheets of waxed paper. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skaffj
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe was perfect. Couldn't believe how it hardened to the cookies and the taste wasn't too sweet. I did it as per the original instructons for 8 servings. It was enough for me to ice my owl cookies and some other christmas cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used it as-is and it was perfect. (I used regular strength vanilla extract and it was good.) Icing was easy to spread and hardened nicely. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Pretty good - definitely used 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I assume it was a typo. Added an extra dash of milk. Really smooth and good amount of sweetness without overpowering the cookie. Took a lot more that 3 drops of food coloring to get red; I ended up using about 25 and it still was pinkish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was very tasty icing. I doubled the batch and used 2 1/4 c powdered sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Crusted nicely after frosted cookies sat out a day uncovered. The cookies were very delicious and this is a wonderful tasting icing. Will definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Decent recipe, little too sugary for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I only used 1 teaspoon of Vanilla, and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States