Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Very good!! Wonderfull taste and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raymond, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I listened to what everyone was saying about there being too much vanilla and I cut it back to 1 teaspoon. It was very good then. You do have to be careful when you use this type of icing because it is soft and creamy. Not the most convenient for tons of sugar cookies because of this. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I followed the suggestion of a reviewer on the cream cheese sugar cookie recipe to use this butter icing recipe but replacing the vanilla extract with 1 tsp. of almond extract and then I thinned it out using an additional 2 to 3 T. of milk to get the consistancy I wanted, soooo good on the sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
MMMM, topped 'soft sugar cookies IV' from this site, so good and sweet. I don't have a sweet tooth normally, but my husband was craving sugar cookies, so i went for it, glad I did! This frosting was so good and easy. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, just personal preference. Also ended up adding more milk. I don't bake, but I may add these cookies and icing to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Super easy and fast! Although, it is a little sweet...maybe I'll add more butter next time (or maybe I'll ask around...cream cheese?). The consistency was perfect for icing my sugar cookies, though. I certainly not complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a great cookie icing. I used on on cookies I made with the Easy Sugar Cookie recipe from Stephanie on this website. What a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
With altered vanilla measurement, this is a very good icing recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Good and easy. I used 1 tsp. of vanilla instead (like others had suggested). I used just a little milk to make the frosting thicker because I used this for sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Really good frosting recipe, and it works well with sugar cookies as it doesn't end up becoming too hard, but hardens just enough so that your cookies aren't all stuck together with frosting either. I tripled the recipe due to the amount of cookies I made (as it doesn't make a whole lot as is), and used clear vanilla instead of regular vanilla. I also used gel food colorings to color my icing instead of liquid food coloring, though I suspect you would be able to thin it out very slightly (if you so desired) by using liquid food color. Overall, a really good sugar cookie icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This frosting was easy and taste good. I read the reviews about pure vanilal and used 1 tsp and 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. This frosting was more than enough for two dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States