Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The frosting came out delicious! I did add a little bit more milk to thin out frosting. What's nice is that it made a small batch so I didn't waste a bunch of leftover frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I did cut the vanilla in half after reading the other reviews and it worked great. I also had to add a little extra milk to get the texture just right. Excellent icing, really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Most of the other icing recipes I saw called for eggs and light corn syrup. I liked that this one didn't need either. However, I think this recipe may have called for too much sugar. When I made it, the texture just wasn't right, and I couldn't taste anything but the sugar. The other measurements seemed right and I think I'll try with less sugar. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I love this recipe but when I made it I think there was a little bit to much sugar so it was kind of grainy. But every thing was good i had it on the best sugar cookies111 well thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used this icing with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" recipe submitted by Jill Saunders. It was a perfect combination! They looked beautiful, tasted great and everyone thought they were from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Delicious! I used the full amount of high quality vanilla and everyone seemed to like it. I didn't like the brown color however. It made it tough to get the colors I wanted with my food coloring. I may use clear vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I also used cream cheese in place of the butter after reading the other reviews and playing around with the recipe. It doesn't taste like cream cheese. And, has a little nicer consistency. I don't like real sweet frosting. So, used 1/4 c. of flour in place of 1/4 c. of the powd. sugar. After I made this recipe a few times this Christmas, playing with the ingredients, I ended up being pleased wih the real vanilla (with about 1 3/4 tsp. clear van.), almond and then tried the cherry flavoring. All three were huge hits and set up very nicely and shiny within 2-3 hours. Of course it is winter and the dry heat probably helps. After changes, this is my new cookie frosting recipe. With them, the frosting tastes as good as the not too sweet sugar cookies I put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
this worked, but to me it tasted like liquid sugar. Maybe next time i'll find one with cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is really good. I used 2 tablespoons of butter and about one tablespoon of cream cheese. I also threw in a teaspoon or so of marshmallow fluff. It was smooth and creamy, yet hardened just enough to coat my sugar cookies well. I used it on the Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I would have given this a five star if it weren't for needing to adjust a couple of things. Primarily, definitely one teaspoon is plenty of vanilla extract. I followed the suggestion to substitute butter for cream cheese and I wouldn't make it any other way. With the substitutions, I would give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States