Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This wasn't the kind of frosting I thought it would be. I beat this frosting for at least 10 minutes and it never did get thick and creamy like the recipe said it would, so I added more powdered sugar and ended up ruining more than 3 cups of powdered sugar and the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Simpson Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oquawka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good. I melted butter with half and half in microwave. I didn't beat the icing, it was more of a glaze. It does set up very fast, so I would place over double boiler with simmering water. Then, dip top half of the cookie and shake excess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this to frost "Great Granddad's sugar cookies" by kathylee. The only thing I did different was I used Mexican vanilla. This icing is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
GREAT! This was exactly what i was looking for. Instead of cream and vanilla i usesed my flavored coffee creamer and made amaretto frosted sugar cookies. YUM. If it begins to set up in your bowl just throw it in the microwve for 15 second intervals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
good... stiffened really quickly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I have used this so much! I used egg nog during the holidays. I just used strawberry flavor/extract instead of vanilla for icing on a yellow cake. It's a pretty forgiving recipe too, I put less sugar and it's very sweet still. I add more milk (instead of cream) and it's still the great. I use cream for special occasions. This is a must keep, quick, and delicious icing/frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have cream so I used nonfat drymilk mixed at a 50/50 ratio. The vanilla taste was a bit too strong, but I fixed that with another 1/4 c. powdered sugar. I think using actual cream would've fixed the vanilla problem though. Super easy and sets well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Good, reliable and certainly easy enough to adjust the consistency to your liking with more or less cream (I used half and half). I used this frosting for "Amish Cookies," recipe also from this site. My only concern is that had I needed a pure white frosting, this would not have been a good choice because of the vanilla. But even at that, it would be easy enough to reduce the amount of vanilla or even leave it out altogether, use clear vanilla, or almond extract, which is also clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used this for sugar cookie cutouts and was actually able to roll out the frosting and cut it with the cookie cutters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
wonderful frosting, I however added more sugar than stated in recipe. I like my cookie frosting thicker, but it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States