Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
It might just be, but I followed the recipe exactly yet I found the icing to be very difficult to work with. It hardened quickly and was difficult to spread. I had to put it on a double boiler and add water to it to get it to spread at all. It ended up being a real pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Perfect for icing gingerbread. We used this for a kids cookie decorating party. I made the icing about an hour ahead and put it into piping bags. Just before decorating I microwaved it for about 20 seconds and it was the perfect consistency to squeeze out onto the cookies. The icing hardened nicely during the party and the kids could stack the cookies to take them home a couple hours after decorating. Just the recipe I was looking for! I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Amazing Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Love this icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good basic frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Turned out good. I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So easy and quick!! It mixed up, spread, and set up perfectly- a great go-to recipe! Will try making different colors, next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rita
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Perfect icing for everything. I have used it on cookies as well as on cupcake and cakes, it tastes great and easy to decorate with. I made a change for the kiddies, I kept it on the heat for almost a minute longer while I stirred with a wooden spoon, the icing became quite firm. The kiddies moulded the icing with their hands and pressing it onto the cookies, the result was fabulous:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Good basic icing for cookies. I used 2% milk instead of cream(all I had). Frosted molasses cookies with it. Spread easily, hardened well, not overly sweet. Thanks Barb, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This wasn't the kind of frosting I thought it would be. I beat this frosting for at least 10 minutes and it never did get thick and creamy like the recipe said it would, so I added more powdered sugar and ended up ruining more than 3 cups of powdered sugar and the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Simpson Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oquawka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States