Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I tried a few cookie frostings on this site and liked the taste of this one best. I still don't think it's quite as good as the store bought kind, but certainly better than the other 3 I tried on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I liked this icing. I used it to decorate my first crack at homemade gingerbread men. It was a good consistency and dried to a nice hard finish. I had already used the last of my cream for another recipe, so I used whole milk instead and it came out just fine. It will set up quickly on you, so if you have a lot of cookies to ice (or whatever you're using it for), I'd leave it on the stove on low or on top of a heating pad to keep it smooth and spreadable while you work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love! I wanted something to put on my cutouts that would spread easily, but not dry to a crust, like confectioner's glaze does. This did the trick! I used half-n-half instead of cream, and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
the frosting was absolutely perfect for my sugar cookies this year. i made it using one-half almond extract / one-half vanilla extract. it does set up quickly; we had to continuously put it in the microwave to make it spreadable. everyone in my family is raving about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have tried every frosting out there and this one is absolutely delicious. You can melt butter in microwave. I also substituted regular cream with flavored coffee creamers--Irish Cream and Amaretto--and, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have never been one to make anything home made. I did try this today for sugar cookies. IT WAS SUPER EASY!!! Tastes great also. My kids wanted to eat the left overs right from the bowl. Its very sweet and got on cookies perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Disappointing- I used real butter and vanilla and the flavor and consistency was just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This worked very well for piping on sugar cookies (it worked better for me than straight buttercream icing). I loved the consistency and flavor. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States