Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I liked this frosting because the powdered sugar blended well with the melted butter. I added the cream after I melted the butter. I did used almond extract which gives the frosting a great flavor. The frosting is not a smooth frosting if that is what you are looking for in a frosting. However, the frosting made great looking Christmas tree shaped sugar cookies. I swirled the frosting and added sprinkles and piped on red frosting dots-that looked like small ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We just used this yesterday to decorate some sugar cookies to give out as gifts. It is very sweet so use it sparingly as other users have said. Not the kind of icing to coat an entire cookie, but tastes great piped around edges and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious and Easy!! I did find, though, as I was beating it all together, that it was a little thin for my taste. So I ended up adding more confectioners sugar, but that was just a matter of preference. The icing dried hard, but not crumbly. i was able to stack them in my cookie container without a problem. Thank you for a great recipe-its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
JUST made these , they're wonderful for frosting or plain with a little sugar , i pressed some , left some in a ball , they cooked beautifully. I also added 1 1/2 tsp Almond extract , DELICIOUS. I'm keeping this in my permanent files. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaZacsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
So good! Perfect amount of sweetness and the consistency is just right for decorating on sugar cookies and then using sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Easy, super fast icing. No waiting for butter to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were the first ever truffles I have ever made. These really are easy. If you use high quality ingredients (I use belgium chocolate and real vanilla extract) you will have great tasting truffles. The possibilities are endless when you start experimenting with flavors and additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela LaForest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This frosting is very easy to make. It's buttery, soft and the kids loved it. What more can I ask for? I thought it was a little too sweet and thick, but that may be because I didn't use a measuring cup in my haste, so I may have put too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindawrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Barbara is right. Not too hard. Not too soft. This is a very nice buttercream icing. Try it on the white velvet cutouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very easy, very good frosting. Stays soft and has a good mild flavor. Went great with the "Sugar Cookie Cutouts" on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States