Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Perfect for my ginger bread cookies thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARTYOFSIX00
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Loved this icing! No changes other than adding 1/2 tsp almond extract (along with the vanilla) and had no problems at all. Just had to stir it a couple of times which is no big deal. If you're also adding colored sugar, it's best to sprinkle on immediately after frosting each cookie...it sets up pretty quickly so waiting until they're all frosted might mean your sugar rolls right off. If this happens, just gently pat it into the icing. Thanks so much.... this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent! followed a previous suggestion for substituting flavored coffee creamer for vanilla and milk (we used hazlenut on one batch and english toffee in another) icing was the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i did everything the recipe said to do. i did use 2% after having seen the other review stating skim worked fine. i don't know if that was the issue, but mine was very runny. i will buy cream and try that. i really wanted mine to look like the picture :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I just this on drop sugar cookies and it came out perfectly! I doubled the recipe for about 60 cookies. I pot of hot water sitting in the sink in order to soften up the icing mid way through frosting! Great icing will use again on my sugar cookies!!! Set up hard enough to stack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Perfect for gingerbread men! Just make sure the gingerbread men aren't too hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
What did i do wrong? mine is like icing frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This icing tastes all right, however I simply could not ice fast enough. I had to keep microwaving the icing to make it pliable and sticky again. I'm used to working with shortening or cream cheese frosting bases, so maybe I'm just not familiar enough with this type, but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Giving this recipe a three because although the taste was perfect, the texture and workability was HORRIBLE! Too much trouble for what it's worth. It gets hard and un-spreadable far too quickly! You're better off searching for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent on sugar cookies - perfect consistency and texture. I get so many compliments on this frosting, I will never try another recipe again... this is it! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States