Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe tasted good but was more like juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Perfect icing!!! it tasted great and dried really nice. You do have to work fast if you want to add sprinkels on top so do it immediately after icing each cookie. My husband and son and I worked as a team and it went really fast and we ended up haveing really cute cookies and a good time too. As for the other posters who said it dried too fast and they had trouble with it you do need to put it in a decorating bag right away. I put portions of it into baggies and then I could make different colors and each bag was kept fresh and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is an icing recipe that's been in my family for years, a few exceptions, not quite as much butter, we use milk and we've never heated it, we just mix it all up and slap it on the cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe worked great on my gingerbread men, but it wasn't anything special. I followed the exact directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessmellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is very thick so I think next time I will add a couple tsp of more cream.. I wanted it to be softer so some sprinkles could stick. As written, I had to press the frosted cookies in the sprinkles as they wouldn't stick otherwise. Very easy with just a few ingredients. Taste is good but the texture isn't quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Wow, is this excellent cookie frosting. I tripled the recipe to make alot of Christmas cutouts. Followed the recipe exactly and it was aweseome. If it thickened, we just blended it again with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used this recipe for a Martha Stewart lemon cookie recipe instead of the glaze mentioned in that recipe (on another website), it was really good and it stuck hard on the cookies but not like Royal Icing -TOO hard- They covered about 45 cookies putting about a teaspoon and a half on each cookie.. A couple of things I did to make it suit the lemon cookies better were that first, I used full fat milk instead of cream, and second, I added a tablespoon of lemon juice to make it lemony. They turned out great! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very tasty icing. It hardened rather quickly so you need to be ready to spread it on. It can also be warmed in the microwave for a few seconds to help the spread-ability.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This worked well and tasted good. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used Vanilla flavored coffee creamer like another reviewer suggested. It did thicken up while frosting the last of the cookies, but dried nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My girls made this while I was away. She said that it did get hard fast and was hard to spread... that she had to work fast but she added some milk and it worked fine after that. I really liked the taste and the look of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States