Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
perfect. followed another user's advice of microwaving the butter and then adding to that bowl. very easy to pop the icing back in the microwave to soften up as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this frosting for my sugar cookies and so many people wanted to know how did I make that frosting because it was perfect! I will use this forever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I melted the butter in the microwave, stirred in milk instead of cream and the vanilla, and then added the icing sugar. I also added cocoa. The icing was quite soft, I didn't have any problem with it hardening too quickly. I had to put my bag into the freezer to harden it a bit as the heat from my hands made it too soft after a while. The icing isn't as neat as royal icing but it is tasty, at least with cocoa in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Yummy buttery flavor. Perfect for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My go-to icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a keeper! It's easy to make and is absolutely delicious! It reminds me of those sugar cookies with the pink frosting you find at the stores! I do recommend taking the advice of another reviewer to keep the frosting over a pan of simmering water while frosting as it does become gritty as it cools and makes frosting a little difficult (it will lift off the cookie as your spreading). Keep it warm and it's easy to use. Thanx for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I really wanted this to be my new wonderful icing but I think I'll keep looking... I wanted it to be more flavorful and easier to use. I ended up having to add a lot of milk in order for my kids to use it and maybe that diluted the flavor. Once the milk was added it was much easier to use for decorating our Christmas cut-out cookies. It took on the color well and the kids gave it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great tasting icing and very easy to modify: can add more powdered sugar to make thicker or more cream to thin. I made one batch thinner to frost shapes, one batch thicker to pipe thru pastry bag for details. Icing took about 1 hour to dry enough to be stackable (a little longer for the parts where I piped it on pretty thick). Piped icing held its shape very well, and sure tastes better than royal icing! Thanks Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe tasted good but was more like juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Perfect icing!!! it tasted great and dried really nice. You do have to work fast if you want to add sprinkels on top so do it immediately after icing each cookie. My husband and son and I worked as a team and it went really fast and we ended up haveing really cute cookies and a good time too. As for the other posters who said it dried too fast and they had trouble with it you do need to put it in a decorating bag right away. I put portions of it into baggies and then I could make different colors and each bag was kept fresh and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States