Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this to frost "Great Granddad's sugar cookies" by kathylee. The only thing I did different was I used Mexican vanilla. This icing is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
GREAT! This was exactly what i was looking for. Instead of cream and vanilla i usesed my flavored coffee creamer and made amaretto frosted sugar cookies. YUM. If it begins to set up in your bowl just throw it in the microwve for 15 second intervals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
good... stiffened really quickly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I have used this so much! I used egg nog during the holidays. I just used strawberry flavor/extract instead of vanilla for icing on a yellow cake. It's a pretty forgiving recipe too, I put less sugar and it's very sweet still. I add more milk (instead of cream) and it's still the great. I use cream for special occasions. This is a must keep, quick, and delicious icing/frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have cream so I used nonfat drymilk mixed at a 50/50 ratio. The vanilla taste was a bit too strong, but I fixed that with another 1/4 c. powdered sugar. I think using actual cream would've fixed the vanilla problem though. Super easy and sets well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Good, reliable and certainly easy enough to adjust the consistency to your liking with more or less cream (I used half and half). I used this frosting for "Amish Cookies," recipe also from this site. My only concern is that had I needed a pure white frosting, this would not have been a good choice because of the vanilla. But even at that, it would be easy enough to reduce the amount of vanilla or even leave it out altogether, use clear vanilla, or almond extract, which is also clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used this for sugar cookie cutouts and was actually able to roll out the frosting and cut it with the cookie cutters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
wonderful frosting, I however added more sugar than stated in recipe. I like my cookie frosting thicker, but it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Amazing. Everything you want in cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I used this recipe without cooking it. Turned out great! Spreads beautifully on cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States