Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
wow this is an awesome recipe. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Great recipe, but for more flavor, I always use almond extract instead of vanilla - just like my grandma makes! Goes great with the "Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" recipe from this site. Using a stand mixer, if you have one, makes this recipe a simple task.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Frosting tasted great and it was firm enough so I could stack the cookies. I melted the butter in the microwave and used milk instead of cream and it still turned out great. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This worked great. I doubled the recipe and added more powdered sugar and more milk as needed to reach the right consistency. I used 2% milk since that's all I had on hand and worked great. I put the frosting in a large zip lock baggie with my Wilton cake dec tips and cut the corner out so it was like an icing bag...but no mess...throw away when done...we like this. All you have to clean is the tips and white plastic jobbies. It was enough to pipe a whole batch of sugar cookies. We made 9's and 0's for my Grandmother's 90th b-day party, and piped around the edges with a thick star shaped tip and it looked great. Dried nice and hard on outside, creamy when you bite into it. Dried nicely enough to stack pretty on a plate. Will use again! If you plan to sprinkle, you must do it right away as it does set up quickly. It reminds me of the iced sugar cookies with sprinkles in the round box at Publix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan S.
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Perfect icing paired with The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies recipe I found on this site. The icing was super easy to make and easy to spread on our cookies. (I didn't bother with piping and making designs etc...not with 2 toddlers wanting to help and I am NOT a patient person...I just wanted the cookies frosted!) Had to use food coloring with this icing since it did not turn out white (had a slight off white appearance, probably due to the vanilla). Like others have said, the icing hardens on the top so the cookies could be stacked, yet soft once you bite into them. Very yummy combo with the cookie recipe I used. My family ate EVERY LAST cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this recipe to go with the Best Rolled Out Sugar Cookies...I doubled the recipe to cover all the cookies that were made in that batch. It made the perfect cookie. At the party that I brought these to they were the first to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I am sorry but this did not work for me 3 hours before our family Christmas Eve party. It was thick, and did not stick to the cookies. Then the sprinkles did not stay on. I may try again and use less sugar, more liquid. It does set up and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Trenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very good icing. Needed to make a double batch to frost xmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This turned out to be a pretty good icing recipe. To make preparation quicker, I simply melted the butter in the microwave (30 sec) instead of on the stove and then added it to the cream. The only downside was that the frosting did not thicken as much as I thought it would, so I just refrigerated it for 30 minutes. If you want really thick icing, add 4 oz. of cream cheese. I iced cookies with this by spooning it into a ziploc bag and snipping one corner - instant piping bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Absolutely perfect! I used whole milk instead of cream because that's all I had and it came out perfect. Easy to work with and dries well. My search for a great tasting icing that dries hard enough to stack the cookies has ended. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States