Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
What a great icing - super flavour. I found it a tad thick initially, but just added a bit more cream until it was the consistency I wanted. It does harden quickly in the bowl (as was mentioned by several other reviewers) - to prevent that happening, just remove the beaters from the mixer, dampen a tea towel, and keep the bowl covered with the tea towel between spreading icing on cookies. Awesome recipe, Barbara,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I just made this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies, and it came out perfect. It dried just hard enough to stack the cookies, but not crunchy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The taste was GREAT!! I used almond extract instead of vanilla.My only complaint was it didnt make that much i had o remake this 3 times o cover all my cookies which was a hassle and i found that when it started cooling it became clumpy so i had to constantly re-heat to make it creamy but the over all taste of the icing was GREAT i may use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I MUST SAY...

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Awesome job. Best icing! Dried beautifully; not too fast, not too slow. Tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizJennaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I thought this frosting had good flavor. It is however hard to spread after it sits for a short while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This icing was incredible in taste! I don't normally like icing at all. I went scant on the powdered sugar a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This icing was yummy! It was a little sweet for my taste, but I made some different flavors with it and iced cupcakes. I used cocoa for chocolate, i mixed in a little maple flavoring (which was divine!), I also mixed instant coffee in some, and peanut butter in some. The peanut butter was my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Easy to work with. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very good flavor, quick to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great icing, used on the Pink Icing Cookies from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States