Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The taste was GREAT!! I used almond extract instead of vanilla.My only complaint was it didnt make that much i had o remake this 3 times o cover all my cookies which was a hassle and i found that when it started cooling it became clumpy so i had to constantly re-heat to make it creamy but the over all taste of the icing was GREAT i may use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I MUST SAY...

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Awesome job. Best icing! Dried beautifully; not too fast, not too slow. Tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizJennaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I thought this frosting had good flavor. It is however hard to spread after it sits for a short while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This icing was incredible in taste! I don't normally like icing at all. I went scant on the powdered sugar a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This icing was yummy! It was a little sweet for my taste, but I made some different flavors with it and iced cupcakes. I used cocoa for chocolate, i mixed in a little maple flavoring (which was divine!), I also mixed instant coffee in some, and peanut butter in some. The peanut butter was my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Easy to work with. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very good flavor, quick to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great icing, used on the Pink Icing Cookies from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Sooo yummy and very easy! stays soft long enough to decorate cookies and then hardens just enough to store them.We used it on christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
1) When using butter in this recipe, the icing tends to get a grainy look after a while, but microwaving it for a few seconds will reverse this for some time. 2) This hardens NICELY!! 3) I use half butter/half margarine which tends to make the icing take a longer time to appear grainy. 4) If you're using different colored icings (in different colored containers), cover the ones you aren't using tightly with plastic wrap to keep from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Weston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States