Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
As I added the sugar I found four cups worked for me so I stopped right there and only added enough milk to get it to the proper consistency for piping onto cupcakes. I wanted a true butter tasting frosting that wasn't too sweet - six cups would have defeated that. With four cups I got a beautiful, light, fluffy, not-too-sweet butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
hate to break the chain of enthusiastic reviews, but this was just not so top-notch for me. I have quite the sweet tooth and even I found this too be a bit too sweet. those who ate the cake along with ice cream (I used this for my boyfriend's bday cake) finished, but those who didn't want ice cream barely made it halfway through their slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is a really delicious frosting, and spreads really well on cakes and cookies. The only thing I do differently is to use unsalted butter, or leave out the salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UTOPIA122
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I used this recipe for my twins' first birthday cakes. I did cut the recipe in half and added more red food coloring for a pinker color. Really liked the flavor. Had to keep it in the fridge or the icing started to run. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I cut recipe amount by 1/3 and still had enough for 2 one layer cakes and a dozen cupcakes! I found the taste very sweet, so I added extra vanilla extract and some almond extract. Good for plain white or not too sweet cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I was wanting a recipe that I could tint several different colors for my daughter's b-day cake. This was perfect. When I went to make it, I realized I only had about 5 cups of powdered sugar. It turned out great and I didn't need to add the extra few Tablespoons of milk at the end. If I had added one more cup of powdered sugar, i can't imagine it turning out though. It was very yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I bake a lot of cakes and finally found the perfect frosting. Not only is it delicious and perfect! It made a nice size amount so I could frost a 2 layer cake. This will be a staple in my house from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Great recipe. Very, very, very sweet, though -- and this is coming from someone who likes sweet things. Also, you may need to add a little more milk than the recipe calls for to get it "spreadable."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Fast, easy and delicious frosting recipe! This is the first time I have ever made frosting myself and was surprised at how great it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Really great icing. Used it on my daughter's birthday cupcakes. Excellenet consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States